Aperture: Delete master but keep version?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Hello.there, Apr 21, 2008.

1. Hello.there macrumors 6502a

Hello.there

Yet another Aperture question.

I'm struggling to understand how I can delete a Master but keep versions of the Master....without deleting the Master and all Versions, if you know what I mean? :eek:

I have a bunch of Masters that I would be happy to delete, so long as I can keep the adjusted versions.....is this possible?

Thanks.

2. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace

Export the adjusted version to a TIFF, jpeg, etc - then reimport it to the library. You can then delete the old Master.

The master is the unedited version to which adjustments are made in invisible "layers" (sorta) - but the actual original is never altered. Unless you never need the photo again, I would recommend keeping the master.

3. Hello.there thread starter macrumors 6502a

Hello.there

Why didn't I think of that? :eek:

That's brilliant Grimace, THANK YOU!

4. kkat69 macrumors 68020

kkat69

That's the way I understood the 'versions' that they are just previews with the adjustments made to the master. So if you made adjustments repeatidly, those adjustments aren't seperate images taking up space, it's just the preview that gets updated.

5. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace

Exactly, even making a new, separate version is just a preview of the master with the 40kb worth of new data applied on top. Non-destructive and and doesn't take up a ton of space!

6. ChrisA macrumors G4

Why do you want to do this? Do you want to save disk space? If you are shooting raw format and using only aperture adjustments on the image then you will not save any space. Those versions are only a very small files that records the possition of the adjustment sliders. The version image does not exist untill you cal it up to display or export.