Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Adrionix

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 20, 2015
Dorset
Looking for some advice, I am new to the app game and have teamed up with a local tech company to build our 1st app. There experience in the app department is limited but they have a coder with some android experience and he is using xamarin to build native iOS & Android versions.

It's a peer to peer app.

Our coder started working the back end and front end coding in September but we never consulted any UI or UX designers as we were told this is something that can be done at the end.

After a bit of research I have found that it may be very important to involve these designers asap.

I am trying to figure out what cross over there is with UI/UX & coding.

Shouldn't the UI/UX design been involved at the initial stage? Will the code (3 months worth & very basic format) that exists now need scrapping and recoding to suit the design of the app?

Could someone explain in simple terms the best way to build an app from start to finish based on some detailed wireframes we have!

Would really appreciate it

Many thanks

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England
IMO it all depends on the specifics, and how the work that has already been done is structured! If the developer adheres tightly to an MVC approach, replacing the UI should not require throwing out any back end "model" code. However if the model doesn't provide the required I/Os for the UI, you might have more issues.

B

Reactions: grandM

grandM

macrumors 68000
Oct 14, 2013
I agree with the mod that applying MVC will decrease the need of involving an UI/UX developer from day one. However I think that the involvement ought to be from an early moment on. Otherwise you simply will loose a lot of time redesigning the views.

balamw

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
New England