Apple Announces Original TV Streaming Service 'Apple TV+'

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Mar 25, 2019.

  1. ErikGrim macrumors 601

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #301
    How is ignoring Europe "racist"?
     
  2. R3k macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Sep 7, 2011
    #302
    Definitely not. The entertainment industry is not locked down tight enough for this to happen, NDA's or no.
     
  3. Shanghaichica, Apr 1, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2019

    Shanghaichica macrumors G4

    Shanghaichica

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #303
    Apple haven’t said that the TV service isn’t coming to Europe at launch. In fact they said it would be available in 100 countries worldwide. The details are so scant that we will have to wait and see where it launches.

    Apple Pay was launched in the US at the end of 2014 and launched in the UK in July 2015. That’s not years.

    The ECG feature on the Apple was available in many European countries less than 6 months after it launched in the US.

    Of course Apple would like to launch everything in as many countries as possible because they can make more money.
     
  4. alphacen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2016
    #304
    Don’t you know that “racist” now means anything you disagree with?
     
  5. Abazigal macrumors G4

    Abazigal

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Location:
    Singapore
    #305
    My understanding of the delays is that it takes time for Apple to negotiate deals in these countries so as to get more favourable terms.

    For example, their news service isn't just some RSS feed app. Apple is actually hiring journalists to curate the news for you, which entails more manpower and resources. So the challenge could simply be scaling the service to cover more countries around the world, because you would basically have to replicate the same process in every country you enter. It's not like software where you simply need to code it only once.
     

Share This Page