Apple Begins Exclusively Selling 'Blackmagic eGPU' for $699, Aimed at New MacBook Pros

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple.com today gained a new and exclusive external GPU aimed at the MacBook Pro, called the Blackmagic eGPU. According to TechCrunch, the unit's appearance exclusively on Apple's website comes in the wake of a partnership between the two companies as Apple aims to widen the eGPU market after launching support for eGPUs this past spring.

    Running for $699.00, the Blackmagic eGPU provides desktop-class graphics performance on a MacBook Pro, through a Radeon Pro 580 graphics processor with 8GB of GDDR5 memory. The accessory connects via Thunderbolt 3, includes two Thunderbolt 3 ports, four USB 3.0 ports, one HDMI 2.0 port, and 85W power delivery. A Thunderbolt 3 cable also comes in the box.

    [​IMG]

    With external GPUs, users can take advantage of smoother gaming experiences, boost graphics-intensive app workflows, enable virtual reality experiences, and even build VR content. Apple leaned into virtual reality as a selling point of eGPUs following the announcement of eGPU support at WWDC 2017, offering eGPU enclosures to developers who want to work on graphically intensive VR applications and games that run on macOS.

    Those interested can purchase the Blackmagic eGPU today for $699.00, and the first units are expected to arrive in two days, on Saturday, July 14. Order pickup is also available at nearby Apple retail stores.

    Article Link: Apple Begins Exclusively Selling 'Blackmagic eGPU' for $699, Aimed at New MacBook Pros
     
  2. b0fh666 macrumors 6502a

    b0fh666

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2012
    Location:
    south
    #2
    one thing that always bugged me... can these egpu use the macbook display, or they require an external monitor? if the latter... meh.
     
  3. TechGod Suspended

    TechGod

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Location:
    New Zealand
  4. dan9700 macrumors 68000

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #4
    Does it uae macbook screen or need a external monitor
     
  5. Dydegu, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    Dydegu macrumors 6502a

    Dydegu

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #5
    You can plug it right into your MBP without the use of an external monitor.
     
  6. dan9700 macrumors 68000

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #6
    but does it work using MacBook screen or like others u need another display
     
  7. Ice-Cube macrumors 6502a

    Ice-Cube

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #7
    I'm positive I don't need this to surf the net on my mac but I want one.
     
  8. sza macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
  9. teeoh717 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    #9
    $699.00 for an AMD 580? Ouch. Hard to justify over an iMac, unless you absolutely need a mobile workstation that’s dockable. Fewer dongles with an iMac as well...

    Either way, still sitting here impatiently waiting for this new Mac Pro.
     
  10. dan9700 macrumors 68000

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #10
    will it work for for 2017 MacBook pros or only new ones
     
  11. CheesePuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Location:
    Southwest Florida, USA
    #11
    2016 and above.
     
  12. Dydegu macrumors 6502a

    Dydegu

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    #12
    You can use the MBP screen.
     
  13. dan9700 macrumors 68000

    dan9700

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    #13
    I wonder if it works under bootcamp for gaming
     
  14. JesperA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Not according to Blackmagics website. Look there first, it answers all of the 19830 billion questions you had in this thread
     
  15. dipan macrumors member

    dipan

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #15
    I wonder if it will work for dual LG 5K displays. Probably will need to use two, given that each one has two TB3 ports, one in and one out. Very pricy solution to accelerate two LG 5K displays at $1400 plus tax!
     
  16. Jago macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    #16
    85w power delivery, is this a joke? That’s not anywhere NEAR enough. Even midrange GPUs require 110-120w, let alone the real high end. Why would you spend so much money on this, only to stick low power ATI crap in there?
     
  17. syklee26 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #17
    I wonder how this will work with new mac mini?
    --- Post Merged, Jul 12, 2018 ---
    I think this refers to USB power...
     
  18. JesperA macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Location:
    Sweden
    #18
    Yes it does. The maximum wattage for the enclosure is 315W which is enough for a 580
     
  19. Val-kyrie, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    Val-kyrie macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    #19
    If Apple really wants "to widen the eGPU market," then it needs to equip all Macs with 4 PCI-e lanes for TB3--especially the MacBook line!

    BECAUSE

    The greatest beneficiaries of eGPUs are ultraportable users, not users whose laptops already have dGPUs built in.

    HOW?

    To do it correctly, the MB would need 4 PCI-e lanes for TB3 and a separate port with separate PCI-e lanes for (at least) one separate USB-C port

    BUT

    This would require Apple not gimping their lineup on the basis of market segmentation (=wishful thinking).

    SO

    Why hasn't Apple included TB3 on all of its portable computers?

    We will know Apple's true intentions--whether to "widen the eGPU market" or to milk unsuspecting customers--based on the next update to the MB lineup.

    PERFORMANCE

    I am also curious how this will perform when using the eGPU alongside the USB ports. Tests on extant eGPUs show that the use of ports on an eGPU lowers the performance of the dGPU in the enclosure because the bandwidth for the graphics card in the enclosure gets siphoned off for the other ports being used. Currently, eGPUs tested with an NVidia GeForce 1080ti only attain performance on par with an NVidia GeForce 1050 due to current TB3 bandwidth limitations (which only reaches ~32 Gb/s due to PCI-e 3.0 limitations, not 40Gb/s).

    IMO, the best performance and price on an eGPU is achieved with the Razor Core X, which is strictly an eGPU with no additional ports.

    Edit: if you need ports buy a (TB3 or USB-C) hub and attach it to a separate port.
     
  20. McG2k1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    #20
    Ok, now make one with nVidia so I can use cuda like a normal modern person uses.
     
  21. Val-kyrie macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    #21
    Power delivery is how much power the eGPU provides to your connected device over TB3. In this case, it is able to power and charge a MBP, which requires 85W to charge, while it is plugged into the eGPU.
     
  22. cmaier macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #22
    But it doesn’t appear to accelerate graphics on the internal monitor (or, at least they are being vague about it)

    What is the recommended setup for gaming and the Blackmagic eGPU?
    The best setup for gaming is to connect an external HDMI or Thunderbolt 3 monitor and then in the display’s system preference, in the arrangement tab, drag over the small white menu bar graphic to the larger external display. A faster alternative is to use clamshell mode to use an external display as a primary display. Both these options will make the external display connected to the Blackmagic eGPU the primary display. When you run your game, it will automatically use that accelerated display.
     
  23. Val-kyrie macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    #23
    I am not aware of any eGPUs currently which accelerate the internal display.
     
  24. H3LL5P4WN macrumors 65816

    H3LL5P4WN

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Pittsburgh PA
    #24

    No Display Port which means FreeSync would potentially be capped at 75hz on a 1080p monitor (from AMD's site).

    This enclosure is useless.
     
  25. Xgm541, Jul 12, 2018
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018

    Xgm541 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #25
    Will this work at all with a 2015 MBP? The throttling issues with the M370X are insane and even being limited by TB2 will be better than that.

    edit: answer is "no".
     

Share This Page