Apple Bluetooth Headset-not so great

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by billyripkin, Jul 25, 2007.

  1. billyripkin macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    First off I love Apple but with this product they missed the mark. Maybe someone can offer some help but if anything is blocking the visual link between the bluetooth headset and iPhone it sounds like staticville. My old Logitech headset can be used pretty much anywhere in my 2 story townhome while my phone sits in the charger. With the Apple headset I get out of visual range and the signal starts to fade. Could Airport extreme or another wifi network be knocking it out? My old headset does not get affected by this so I am calling this product a $130 dud.

    If I cant find a working solution for this I am returning it and hopefully not getting hit with a restocking fee. So sad since it is a really nice looking product not to mention the dock idea is excellent.:(
     
  2. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
  3. billyripkin thread starter macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    So I am guessing you returned one? I know on the receipt it did not say so I was wondering if you are just assuming or know from actually having returned one.

    By the way does anyone else out there have a problem with static during calls using the Apple Bluetooth Headset
     
  4. plumbingandtech macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #4
    turn off airport extreme and other items to test. then turn them each back on until you find the problem.
     
  5. billyripkin thread starter macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Well I tried to unplug the Airport Extreme and no luck. Still wondering is any other owners having the same problem? I just want to see if maybe my bluetooth earpiece is defective.
     
  6. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #6
    The range on mine seems to be about the same, perhaps a bit less than my Plantronics. If the iPhone is on the opposite side of my head as the headset, it does start to block. The Plantronics behaved similarly.
     
  7. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Yup.
     
  8. dominatrix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #8
    i cant find one and some people are already returning lol..

    :mad:
     
  9. billyripkin thread starter macrumors 6502

    billyripkin

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    I know....I wanted one so bad and was excited when I got to the store yesterday and the employee told me they had just gotten 3 in stock. Now, unless someone can convince me it is something I can fix I will be taking it back to the store. Sucks
     
  10. dukeblue91 macrumors 65816

    dukeblue91

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #10
    Try to pair the two again, I had to do this twice with my Moto headset.
     
  11. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #11
    Not sure what you guys are talking about, but my Apple BT headset works great.

    I can leave my iPhone on the kitchen table and walk into another room with out any static.

    While at work I left my iPhone on my desk and walked at least 15 feet down the hall before any noticable change in sound quality.
     
  12. GTiPhone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Island Heights, NJ
    #12
    Mine works just fine, maybe I should start a thread called Apple Bluetooth Headset- works great
     
  13. dr_lha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    #13
    You can currently get the Jawbone for $50 less than Apple's offering, so I decided to go for that, especially as it supposedly adds excellent noise canceling and has the over ear hook (ear buds fall out of my ears).
     
  14. joshuajames macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    #14
    I had the exact same problem and I've been through TWO of them just in case the first one was broken. There is absolutely no way any other company would've let this through QC. It just doesn't work...
     
  15. AJsAWiz macrumors 68030

    AJsAWiz

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Location:
    Ohio
    #15
    And your iPhone was still there when you got back? :p
     

Share This Page