Apple Introduces New Mac Pro with Nehalem Xeon Processors

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Mar 3, 2009.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]

    Apple(R) today introduced the new Mac(R) Pro using Intel "Nehalem" Xeon processors and a next-generation system architecture to deliver up to twice the performance of the previous generation system.* The new Mac Pro starts at $2,499 and features the latest graphics technology and an updated interior that makes expansion even easier than before.
    The new Mac Pro includes Intel Xeon processors running at speeds up to 2.93 GHz, each with an integrated memory controller with three channels of 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC memory that delivers up to 2.4 times the memory bandwidth while cutting memory latency up to 40 percent.** Every Mac Pro comes standard with the NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 with 512MB of GDDR3 memory, a high-performance graphics card with nearly three times greater performance when compared to the previous generation system.*** An optional ATI Radeon HD 4870 is available for even more performance. With both a Mini DisplayPort and DVI port, the new Mac Pro provides out-of-the-box support for the 24-inch Apple LED Cinema Display, the 30-inch Apple Cinema HD Display, or other DVI based displays.

    - $2499. One 2.66GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 3500 Processor. 3GB of RAM. NVIDIA GeForce GT 120. 640GB HD.
    - $3299. Two 2.26GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 5500 Processor. 6GB of RAM. NVIDIA GeForce GT 120. 640GB HD.

    [testdi]http://www.macrumors.com/2009/03/03/apple-introduces-new-mac-pro-with-nehalem-xeon-processors/[/testdi]

    Article Link: Apple Introduces New Mac Pro with Nehalem Xeon Processors
     
  2. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #2
    not too bad a deal for canada edu store 3399 for the top base
    2699 for single proc (edu)
    2899/3799 in regular store
     
  3. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #3
    Wait a minute, you have to spent at least $3300 to to get the option to go OVER 8 gigs...I don't like this split between Quad and Octo.

    $225 upgrade for 8 gigs of ram? wow, not bad Apple not bad. (For EDU sorry.)
     
  4. valdore macrumors 65816

    valdore

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    Kansas City, Missouri. USA
    #4
    Way to go Arn staying on top of these updates so fast!
     
  5. Hamish macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    #5
    Holy Wow... but apple australia store is not up yet, so I dont know the price.
     
  6. iPastor macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #6
    Need more info..

    The brain doesn't compute that a lower clock speed is in fact an improvement. I would like to see more info on the Nehalem chipset, as this seems to make the difference, as well as three channels for the memory set.

    In all, it seems to be a nice improvement for what I am getting.
     
  7. BornAgainMac macrumors 603

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #7
    I am disappointed. I would have expected a better price at those configurations.
     
  8. SydneyDev macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #8
    Oh boy. The difference between the Mac Pro and iMac is going to be a lot more pronounced than it was in the last generation.
     
  9. Jimmetry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    #9
    Wait, 3GB RAM? As in... less than the new 'midrange' iMac? Weird.

    I'm sure there's a legitimate reason, but it sounds odd from a marketing perspective.
     
  10. UMHurricanes34 macrumors 65816

    UMHurricanes34

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    But consider how they're giving you those 8 gigs. 4x2GB, so you're losing space that could be more efficiently, but of course more expensively, be filled by two 4GB chips. I upgrade my MP in 4GB chips, but DDR3 is massively more expensive than DDR2 now. Hopefully this new release will let the high end Mac Pro memory drop in price a little more.

    Also, Apple hasn't updated the Mac Pro page under the Mac tab...I'm interested in the new interior. It's unlike Apple to not have that ready along with the launch.

    Well they've updated it now, but it's all messed up.
     
  11. Umbongo macrumors 601

    Umbongo

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    England
    #11
    2006 Mac Pro - $2,499 Two 2.66GHz dual core ($690 per processor) $1,119 + processors
    2008 Mac Pro - $2,799 Two 2.80GHz quad core ($797 per processor) $1,205 + processors

    2009 Mac Pro - $2,499 One 2.66GHz quad core ($284 per processor) $2,215 + processor
    2009 Mac Pro - $3,299 Two 2.26GHz quad core ($373 per processor) $2,553 + processors

    Please explain Apple.
     
  12. Palliser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    USA
  13. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #13
    Hold on, these prices can't be right.... £2499 for a 2.26GHz Eight Core?? I'm shocked that 2.66GHz isn't the baseline. £2499 for a 2.66GHz Eight Core would have made a bit more sense although still more expensive than the previous model. As for the price bump of the Mac Mini up from £391 to £499. Ludicrous. I was planning on buying a new Mac Pro but I think I'll wait a while now.
     
  14. kolax macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #14
    Engadget says the Apple Store says the wrong info for the Mac Pro's for CPU's..
     
  15. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #15
    Interesting things to note...The super high end Quattro graphics card no longer is an option.


    Clock speed has dropped below 3 ghz, so we must assume Nehalem delivers a hell of a boost at a lower clock speed.

    Ram prices are not as bad as they used to be for the Mac Pro's.
     
  16. galstaph macrumors 6502a

    galstaph

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    The Great White North Eh
    #16
    I don't know either, kinda weird pairing, maybe apple got a fire sale on some dimms;)
     
  17. LeviG macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Location:
    Norfolk, UK
    #17
    Got to love the graphics - not
    no workstation card full stop, got to have 2 cards to use 2 led displays.
    Apple seriously lost the plot on this one, the mac pro is a workstation machine and they give us gaming graphics cards, the ati one is likely to be out of date in the next few months too (coming upto update cycle) :rolleyes:

    Price not too sure its good value but nehalem is still pricey, I suspect a fair few people may now hold off on it atleast in the UK
     
  18. SydneyDev macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #18
    It has to be a multiple of 3 with that CPU. I have an i7 in my PC and it has 6GB (i.e. not 2, 4 or 8)
     
  19. tMac85 macrumors 65816

    tMac85

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Location:
    in a great place
    #19
    WTF. they are throwing everything out into the ring today!

    keep it up arn!
     
  20. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #20
    They can't sell them at previous prices. The processors are a lot more expensive.
     
  21. azentropy macrumors 68020

    azentropy

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    Surprise
    #21
    It has gotta be a misprint... Quad core is supposed to start at $1499 not $2499... right???

    This is just plain sad...
     
  22. jeremybuff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #22
    ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB 4-6 weeks

    If you configure the 24" 'ultimate' 3.06 ghz with the ATI Radeon HD 4850 512MB your shipping goes from 4-5 days to 4-6 weeks..........
     
  23. longofest Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #23
    Firewire is far from dead. 4 Firewire 800 ports on these babys.
     
  24. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #24
    one Mini Display port on the graphics card along with DVI which looks hella weird. also means that you cant use two LED Displays with a Mac Pro :rolleyes:.

    [​IMG]
     
  25. Palliser macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #25
    Correct. Although u can have it as 2 / 4 / 8 but it runs quicker when you have 6 / 12 config as it runs in Tri-Channel model (instead of Dual).
     

Share This Page