Apple News App

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by Threejw, Jun 29, 2016.

  1. Threejw macrumors member

    Threejw

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    #1
    for ios 9
    I dont live in the US, so I changed the region hoping it would show on my home screen but it didn't, did apple disable this or the app is not available on my 12.9 ipad pro?

    And on ios 10
    Are there still regional restrictions on the app?

    Thanks !
     
  2. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #2
    Yes. In certain countries, Apple News are permanently unavailable due to local regulation restrictions. You may need VPN to use this app.
     
  3. perezr10 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Location:
    Monroe, Louisiana
  4. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #4
    For those countries, users living in those countries can use news app without problem.

    For users living outside them, they can switch their iPhone region setting to US, or UK, or Australia to let news app showing on home screen. (Hope this trick still works)

    However in certain regions in the world, even changing region would not bring news app at all.
     
  5. i0Nic macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #5
    News only happens in the US, UK and Australia (in Apple's eyes).
     
  6. Threejw, Jul 1, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2016

    Threejw thread starter macrumors member

    Threejw

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    #6
    I used to live in australia last year and now i'v moved back to saudi arabia and my phone's music, app stories went to the dark ages along with its news app and a few other Siri features...

    I now pay alot of money to get a US itunes card just to change my region.. Apple needs to deal with this
     
  7. iDento macrumors regular

    iDento

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Location:
    iCloud Servers
    #7
    Set the Region in Settings to US, it worked for me, I'm in the gulf too.
     
  8. LordQ macrumors 68040

    LordQ

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #8
    I am in Mexico and the Top Picks does not work and stories are not showing the most recents. Shame.
     
  9. Shirasaki macrumors 603

    Shirasaki

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    #9
    I used to buy gift card to change my account region, but after struggling over half a year, I give up and use separate account to use different stores.
     

Share This Page