Apple Raises Student Price For Leopard to $116

Discussion in 'macOS' started by tylerdw89, Oct 16, 2007.

1. tylerdw89 macrumors 6502

That's a nearly $50 price increase from what Tiger cost students!

2. tylerdw89 thread starter macrumors 6502

3. weaverra macrumors regular

Obviously if a student is that strapped then they don't need to be spending the $69. A student can easily blow $50+ on eating out and junk. I am a student and if I want something I work and save for it.

4. benpatient macrumors 68000

Oh obviously, weaverra. In fact, responsible students should pay $199 instead of regular price, because they need to work and save for it instead of spending 50 dollars eating out.

I don't know where you're coming from, but when I was in college, I spent between 2 and 4 dollars on a meal unless someone else was paying. I ate more subway 99 cent mini sandwiches and taco bell bean burritos than I care to think about while I was in school. The reason apple gives a student discount is because they know if they charge too much, students are just going to download the software instead.

5. The Stig macrumors 6502a

The Stig

I'm just happy that they lowered Canadian price to Par!! YEAH APPLE!! THANKS FOR BEING FAIR!!!

The Stig

6. ChrisA macrumors G4

If cost is an issue and you are not happy with what you already have and whant to change get Linux. It's free.
    Linux will run just find on both intel and PPC and has
    slightly better performance then mac OS X. Linux wil
    run all the same free softare as the Mac, Open Office
    and Firefox and the destop looks kind of, sort or not
    to different. So starving students don't have to choose between buying software and food.

The other free alternative is of course to keep Tiger.

7. dethl macrumors regular