Apple RAM vs Apple qualified RAM and non Apple RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DELTAsnake, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. DELTAsnake macrumors 6502

    DELTAsnake

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    After seeing that WoW's Mac client will pretty much take as much memory as I can throw at it I'm thinking of getting some more RAM. Macfixit.com.au and macsales.com both have cheap RAM, I can get a full 8gb for the same price as Apple sells a single 2gb DIMM for and I'm actually considering 12gb or even 16gb from one of these stores because the price is so cheap.

    Is there anything I need to know about reliability or performance before I buy some cheap Mac Pro RAM?
     
  2. philipma1957, Feb 11, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    RETURN POLICY. I buy non apple ram all the time. My success rates are 99 percent plus. I have bad stick from more then 100


    http://www.macfixit.com.au/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=912 for 2010 quad



    http://www.macfixit.com.au/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=1339 for 2010 hex


    both of these should be good what is your machine type? note the hex ram will work in the quad machine. USA prices are a little lower but shipping is difficult to AU from USA

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/85MP3W4M12GK/

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/1333D3W4M12K/





    these work and are 3 for 165 USD

    HEX CORE:

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php...B-ECC-Server-Memory-For-Apple-Mac-Pro-Systems




    QUAD CORE BELOW

    http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php...B-ECC-Server-Memory-For-Apple-Mac-Pro-Systems
     
  3. DELTAsnake thread starter macrumors 6502

    DELTAsnake

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thanks Phillip, I'll put in an order tomorrow morning. I'll either get the ones you mentioned or these ones for my Quad Nahalem Mac Pro http://www.macfixit.com.au/shop/index.php?_a=viewProd&productId=913

    I guess if I get the 16gb 4x4gb I can always take out a stick to get tripple channel instead of dual channel if my games in both OSX and Windows 7 use less than 12gb of RAM, but I bet when Crysis 2 comes out it will take all 16gb.
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    yeah they look good and buying the 4 sticks won't hurt the wallet too much more then 3 sticks.
     

Share This Page