Apple Replacement policy for notebooks

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aaronacw, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. aaronacw macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    #1
    Hi, Does anyone know the replacement policy if you get your MBP replaced through Applecare, is it done by price or "performance" I have a SR 2.4 MBP 15, does anyone know whether it would be replaced by the 2.53 or 2.66 MBPs, as I am worried that the 9400M will be worse for gaming. Post your experiences

    TIA
    Aaron
     
  2. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    it is usually calculated by specs, your notebook will be replaced by the 2.66, unless your's has 512mb video in which it will be replaced by the 2.8, you have to make sure they know that you need deticated video or they will stick you with the 2.53.

    this has been my experience with my last macbook pro's being replaced...total of 3 now over 2 years.
     
  3. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #3
    Since the topic came up, what's Apple's general rule for replacements vs. repair?

    My late 2006 MBP has had the top cover piece (not the lid, the one with the trackpad, speakers, etc) replaced twice for a non-responsive trackpad and keyboard, and now I'm taking it in because I've lost right channel sound (speaker issue, headphones work okay). I'm 95% sure they'll just replace the part, but I thought I'd ask in case there are prospects for a replacement (3 times for the same part is getting up there IMO).
     
  4. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    those are pretty minor repairs, it is very unlikely the would replace it.

    but it never hurts to try, disappointment works far better over anger.

    act disappointed...they always feel bad for you.
     
  5. UltraNEO* macrumors 601

    UltraNEO*

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    近畿日本
    #5
    From my experience, you need to have 3 major parts changed due to manufacturing defects; what warrants for major parts? Well.. the logicboard, the display and maybe the superdrive.. the keyboard/topcase ain't really major in my opinion.. and they're readily available without completely dismantling the system. Those your describing ain't really what i'd call 'major'.. though there's no harm asking Apple for an exchange.
     
  6. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #6
    I got tired pushing for a replacement. I had had the logic board, display and top case replaced but they still just wanted to repair it. Sometimes you'll get off easy and sometimes the laptop will need to have exploded before they even consider it
     
  7. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #7
    Thanks, that's what I figured, but as you say, probably doesn't hurt to ask at least.
     
  8. mpopkin macrumors 6502

    mpopkin

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, NC
    #8
    Apple will not replace a computer under warranty with a newer model, first off, and in general they will do several things
    1) pretty much replace any damaged part, from logic board, to cpu, screen etc, including body, to get the machine to work, and trust me, they have parts on hand going back five years, at least(no written evidence, but i have experienced it recently)
    2) If they deemed your computer completely dead due to a manufacturing defect, say a year or two later, they would either do 1), or as most would assume, say that the damage was user caused, now Apple does not usually(almost never with MBP's) blame the customer, so they would then do 1)
    3) in the unlikely event that they decide on a replacement, highly unlikely, they would most likely give you the same model refurbished, i am confident that they keep models in backstock for three years from release date for this very purpose,
     
  9. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    everyone of these statements is wrong,

    they will replace laptops after 3 major repairs, if they decided to replace you get a NEW macbook of the same spec or better.

    recently my laptop was replaced without 1 repair just because of the magsafe defect.

    if its under warranty they will replace it if they deem it to be the thing to do or 3 major repairs.

    they dont backstock anything, refurbs are sold until sold out in the apple refurb store online.

    i have worked with apple for 6 years and this has always been the case.
     
  10. hitman45400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #10
    Well, at the moment, my airport card has to be reset almost everytime i turn on my laptop, the usb port on the left side doesn't work half the time i plug my iPod or external hard drive into it, and then, it freezes up with itunes and a word doc open, and then the fans will spin up too 5-6k rpms, with the average temp of 165 degrees..replacement?
     
  11. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    yep, without a doubt.
     
  12. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #12
    Apple is replacing my 2.4 stock unibody with the 2.66 stock.

    Oh, and they absolutely do not replace the machines with a refurbished one. I asked twice to get a refurbished model, or even a gift card with the value of a MBP so that I can purchase a refurbished model, and they said no.

    If they decide to replace the machine they will give you a brand new model only.
     
  13. HunterMaximus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    #13
    Out of curiosity, are they replacing it with the new version (SD slot, etc.) or the old version, and what were the underlying problems?
     
  14. hitman45400 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #14
    My machine is refurbished, so does that qualify me for a brand new one?
     
  15. amoda macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    #15
    Sorry, hopefully my edit cleared things up. They are replacing it with new SD slot model.
     
  16. jdaco6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    #16
    As Apple would say 'Machine replacement is decided on a case by case basis and takes into account the feelings of the customer and the cost effectiveness for Apple'.
     
  17. e12a macrumors 68000

    e12a

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    #17
    If a part is replaced at least 3 times, and it is a major repair which basically only consists of logic boards and display replacements, it "qualifies" for a replacement. Top cases, keyboards not withstanding. When i say qualifies, you still have to go through Apple's customer relations (not to be confused with applecare phone support) to be considered for a replacement.

    and when they do replace it, it is with the current equivalent model. (i.e. if you got the high end MBP, you will receive the current equivalent) if your troubles are particularly bad, they might even upgrade you if you had a low end model.
     
  18. eeriephenomenon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #18


    MacMod when you say "same spec" what specs exactly are you referring to? Im currently trying, and struggling, to get a replacement for my black macbook (thread here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=729611) due to a string of what i would call major/moderate issues. i would definitely like to know what you think of my case... but if i do get lucky and they end up replacing mine, would they be replacing it with the $999 white one after i got the $1499 black one? i mean i know theres still a spec bump but theres a reason why i didnt get the "ugly" white one... ?
     
  19. spaceboots06 macrumors 6502a

    spaceboots06

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Location:
    The Rotten Apple
    #19
    Way to go! I knew that guy was pulling stuff out of his butt.
     
  20. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #20
    by same spec i mean, they will never downgrade you in a replacement.

    if they did, you need to speak up because somtimes they dont realize it.

    ie, say you had a mbp 2.16ghz , 256mb vram , 1gb memory , 250gb hdd

    under apple care this laptop would be replaced with a 2.66ghz , 256mb vram , 320gb hdd.

    depending on your spec's you may end up with a 13" mbp, (if this was me i would complain about durability to have it replaced with a 13" pro)

    if you are in canada i can help you along by opening you a case, other wise you will have to call apple.
     
  21. eeriephenomenon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #21


    thanks macmod, actually im in the US and also already have a case but the supervisor im supposed to be working with hasnt returned my call in the past 2 days, as i detailed in my thread. i dont know what i should do at this point, if i should call apple care and ask for a new supervisor of just wait...
     
  22. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #22
    by supervisor do you mean apple care specialist ?

    call customer relations, they get things done.
     
  23. eeriephenomenon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #23
    well, since i didnt have any number for customer relations, ive looked on the internet and havent found a good lead yet, i had called apple care and asked to speak to someone in customer relations about a possible replacement. thats when, after a brief explaination, i was transfered to a "supervisor" (or something of the sort). I dont know how to distinguish this guy from anyone at customer relations but he did give me a call back number with an extension but all i get is his voicemail.
     
  24. MacModMachine macrumors 68020

    MacModMachine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #24
    if you get there vm there in a call, if it rings out there not working.

    call back, recite the case number and push for a decision. if that supervisor cant be reached, get them to send you to one that can.
     
  25. eeriephenomenon macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    #25

    ok ill try this and let you know how it goes, thanks!
     

Share This Page