Apple shipped me wrong MacBook Pro (incorrect specs)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Koonie, Sep 12, 2012.

1. Koonie macrumors newbie

Koonie

My family purchased me a new 15 inch MacBook Pro online for my birthday last week. I was super excited for it to arrive, and it actually arrived today which was a day earlier than the scheduled delivery.

I did some research and I read somewhere to double check the specs to make sure everything was correct, and unfortunately when I viewed the specs, the graphics card was wrong... it was the 512 MB of GDDR5 memory instead of the 1GB of GDDR5 memory. We called Apple and they are sending us a new laptop early next week.

Just wondering if anyone else has experienced this before? This is my first time getting a Mac computer and it is unfortunate to have things starting out this way...

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

So send it back. Apple will take care of it. It happens infrequently, but it happens. Nothing to worry about. When you ship about a million Macs a month, a small percentage of errors is to be expected.

3. Ryukouki macrumors regular

Yup, no big deal, they'll take good care of you. :)

4. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

Orlandoech

This is CRAZY, I would demand a refund and a free laptop. :rolleyes:

5. sofianito macrumors 65816

sofianito

Apple ships a million macs a month?? Hahaha, thanks for the funny joke...

6. MaxPower72 macrumors 6502

MaxPower72

and an iPod touch for the emotional distress, they spoiled his birthday.

7. takeshi74 macrumors 601

8. GGJstudios, Sep 12, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012

GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

9. sofianito macrumors 65816

sofianito

I can see the big smile on the face of the person who ordered a base model and received at least a 2.6ghz with 1gb gddr5 ram...

10. trikky macrumors regular

What did Apple say when you phoned them upon receiving your order?

11. Ryukouki macrumors regular