Apple to Bring Back Matte Displays as an Option on More Macs?

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by tcphoto, Jul 15, 2009.

1. tcphoto macrumors 6502a

tcphoto

I realize that anti glare may not be for everyone but some of us prefer it. I was happy to see the post on Apple Insider that Apple may be offering an option on all MBP models. For some of us, the glossy display simply does not work in our workflow and we would simply like to make our own choice.

I am a photographer and I work on locations ranging from open sunlight to cave like conditions. Those display hoods do not always block enough light or kill the reflections of objects. I certainly look forward to hearing that Apple understands what their customers need, not just what Apple wants to sell. Not all of us are buying their products for play but to make a living and deliver a project.

2. MacRumors macrumors bot

MacRumors

Apple to Bring Back Matte Displays as an Option on More Macs?

[​IMG]

AppleInsider reports that Apple is considering bringing back matte antiglare displays in the form of an option on more of the company's Mac offerings. Currently available only as a $50 option on the 17" MacBook Pro, the report speculates that the 13" and 15" MacBook Pros are the most likely candidates for future inclusion of the option.
    Apple's glossy displays have come under criticism from both professional image editors who note that the glossy displays interfere with color matching and a wider array of users who find the glare generated by Apple's glossy displays under bright conditions distracting. Apple has reportedly been following various petitions and discussions regarding the complaints and is making plans to address them in future product revisions.

Article Link: Apple to Bring Back Matte Displays as an Option on More Macs?

3. DELLsFan macrumors 6502a

DELLsFan

Oh yeah ... the return of the matte displays would be a great change (or option) for those wanting one.