Apple TV 4 Amazon Prime and 5.1

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by MagicBoy, Sep 2, 2018.

  1. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #51
    I just tried the new series, Informer, and all I am getting is stereo. But I selected the movie Next, and it’s outputti in 5.1. I don’t get it.
     
  2. Cap.T macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    #52
    When it comes to Jack Ryan remember that there are two versions of it on Prime. One is the Full HD-Version. That one only comes with Stereo-Sound (Why I don't know). The other version is in 4K with HDR and that version comes with Atmos-Sound. Unfortunately unlike Netflix, Amazon still uses seperate versions for their content. So if a show is available in Full HD and 4K on Prime, you don't automatically get the 4K-Version. You need to specifically search for the 4K-Version (which often times doesn't work, because apparently amazon things making the 4K-versions difficult to find is a good thing...) and you only get it offered if you connected to a 4K-TV. Often times the 4K-Versions do have Dolby 5.1 or Dolby Atmos, while there Full-HD counterparts do not. Again why amazon does it like that I don't now.
    Using seperate streams for Full-HD and 4K get's especially ridiculous if you live in another country. In Germany there are often times 4 or more versions of the same show. You get Full-HD in Englisch, Full-HD in German, 4K in English, 4K in German. Sometimes there are even more additional versions that offer both languages.
    I will never understand why amazon doensn't just offer "One-fits-all"-Streams like Netflix does.
     
  3. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #53
    Thanks. So if I understand you, you can get 5.1 but only with the 4K version of the show. And even though I have the 4K ATV, I won’t find the 4K version because I don’t have a 4K TV. So I am stuck with an HD show that only outputs stereo.

    But yet I can watch a movie in HD, not 4K, and get 5.1 sound. Sounds like Amazon has screwed up with their originals or they are trying to get folks to my a Fire device. I’ve got to believe it’s a coding screw up if movies can out[it 5.1 but Prime Originals can’t with my configuration. SMH.

    I just wish I knew who to contact at Amazon to figure this out.
     
  4. Michelasso, Feb 4, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019

    Michelasso macrumors 6502

    Michelasso

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Location:
    Treviso, Italy
    #54
    I have noticed it only now, and maybe it changed after the last update (Feb. 1st). On the episodes selection now Prime Video shows 5.1 in the description, like it has been in Android TV since ever. At least with "The Grand Tour". I'll have to check other TV Shows.

    Here a sample:
    upload_2019-2-4_12-27-55.png

    PS: Yup. I checked other TV Shows. It seems to show 5.1 where available.
    PPS: It also shows 5.1 in the main screen, in the TV Show/Movie description on the top.
     
  5. Fatboymart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Location:
    South Wales UK
    #55
    Previously I wasn’t able to see Dolby Atmos while watching Jack Ryan HDR on the A4K, but after reading the above I checked again and was pleasantly surprised to see Dolby Atmos advertised and Atmos picked up by my Pioneer 901. I live in the UK, FYI, so maybe we have received an update not present before Christmas.
     
  6. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 603

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #56

    Sorry, but I *AM* selecting the 4K UHD version. But without a 4K set, all I get is STEREO from Jack Ryan on the AppleTV 4K. My Nvidia Shield at least gives me 5.1. I think it's ridiculous I should have to buy an expensive HDFury Vertex to "fool" Prime and Vudu into giving me Atmos sound when 4K and Atmos are not connected together what-so-ever (i.e. there are plenty of Atmos 1080p Blu-rays, etc. and on ATV 4K, Netflix works in Atmos with 1080p as does iTunes).
     
  7. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #57
    The shows I’m watching all have the 5.1 symbol in the description but only outputting 2.0 stereo. And I’m having the same problem as MVM. I’m running an Apple TV 4K without a 4K TV.

    Doesn’t make any sense but that has to be the common denominator in this. I have emailed Amazon support and they opened a ticket and escalated it to the tech team, whatever that all means. If I get any updates, I will post them.

    And like I said above, my PlayStation 3 plays all these Originals in 5.1. So this has to be some coding error by Amazon. Hope they get it fixed soon.
     
  8. archer75 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #58
    what are your audio settings on the ATV?
     
  9. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #59
    It’s set to Best available. I also tried 5.1 but it didn’t make any difference. The ATV has no problem outputting 5.1 on Netflix, Vudu, etc.
     
  10. Cap.T, Feb 4, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019

    Cap.T macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2018
    #60
    Actually not having a 4K TV doesn't make much of a difference. I do have a 4K-TV and I still get only Stereo on a lot of shows and movies that have the 5.1-Logo. The only shows that are pretty much guaranteed to have 5.1 (or Atmos) for me are the Prime-4K-Series. I'm not sure why you can even select those when you don't have a 4K-TV connected though. I didn't even get these offered with my old Full-HD TV. It makes sense though, that a 4K show (with Atmos) would only output stereo depending on how your Apple TV is connected. If it's connected directly to the TV and your using ARC to your Receiver then it's probably a DRM issue, because I don't think ARC support Atmos. I think eARC is requiered for that. Maybe that could have something to do with your specific problem of Jack Ryan 4K only outputting stereo. Or maybe the Prime App recognizes that you only have a Full-HD TV connected and defaults you automatically to the Full HD version which only offers stereo on the Apple TV Prime-App.
    But the generel problem remains. Some movies/shows that have 5.1 on other streaming devices don't offer it on the Apple TV-Prime App and it doesn't matter which TV is used really. It's totally random as far as I can see.
     
  11. archer75 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #61
    Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the app? That has worked in the past.
     
  12. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #62
    I think that this is the issue:

    “Or maybe the Prime App recognizes that you only have a Full-HD TV connected and defaults you automatically to the Full HD version which only offers stereo on the Apple TV Prime-App.“

    But it doesn’t make sense to do that in the first place. And I’m not using ARC. I’m running the ATV into my receiver via HDMI then to the TV also via HDMI. And I don’t think I’m getting the 4K versions of the Originals. At least I don’t recall seeing 4K on the banner. But I am seeing 5.1 on the banner. We’ll see what Amazon does with this.
    --- Post Merged, Feb 5, 2019 ---
    Yep. A number of times. No luck.
     
  13. Gator5000e macrumors newbie

    Gator5000e

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2018
    #63
    i just watched the first season the The Expanse on Prime video via my ATV 4K and the sound was 5.1 Dolby Digital. This seems to enforce the idea that somehow Amazon has screwed up it's own Originals when they play via an ATV. It will be interesting to see what happens with season 4, which will be the first season under the Amazon flag. Hope they get this figured out by then.

    On a positive note, I have to say the picture was fantastic via the ATV. SyFy on my cable provider Spectrum is truly awful. Borders on worse then SD and on a decent 65" TV, it helps the picture look bad. I guess SyFy broadcasts in 1080i and it just looks bad. I had the same issue with 12 Monkeys and have the same problem now with The Magicians. A broadcaster like SyFy (Universal NBC) should do better, especially for a network that concentrates in medial with lots of special effects. Rant over.
     
  14. MagnusVonMagnum macrumors 603

    MagnusVonMagnum

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    #64
    ^^^ You're talking about the network responsible for Sharknado...yeah, I don't think "quality" is one of their biggest concerns. ;)
     

Share This Page