Apple tv 4k Subtitles disappear when watching netflix/viaplay

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by danieleilertsen, Oct 3, 2017.

  1. danieleilertsen, Oct 3, 2017
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2017

    danieleilertsen macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #1
    I am having issues with the subs going away in the middle of an episode. This happens with viaplay, netflix etc.

    The speed, modem etc are fine. Have checked with the ISP and different sources. The apple tv is the only one with this issues.

    I have a friend of mine that has the same issue.

    What do you think? Software or hardware issue?
     
  2. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
  3. plexdk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #3
    Im also experiencing it + quality jumps up and down. Back to using build in Netflix, on my ks8000 telly :(
     
  4. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Had same issue watching Narcos and subs going away on my OLED. Have to stop and start for them to return. Pretty annoying.
     
  5. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #5
    It seems like a software issue then? I know a couple of friends having this happend to them also.

    Has it happend on any other apps of yours?

    Would be great if you could give your feedback also here:

    https://www.apple.com/feedback/appletv.html
     
  6. haxrnick macrumors 6502a

    haxrnick

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Seattle
    #6
    No, it didn't happen on my shield.
     
  7. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #7
    I know. Didnt happen on my smart tv samsung. Only on apple tv 4k. Even if i had wifi or ethnet cabel.

    I recon its software? Thats why i posted the link. Or maybe there is a fix out
     
  8. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #8
    Talked to netflix for 6 hours. In the end they confirmed its a bug on there part. They are working with apple to fix the problem.
     
  9. plexdk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    #9
    I Wonder if they’ll fix the quality jumping in the streaming as well..
     
  10. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #10
    you should really tell them about the problem?
     
  11. 4myapple macrumors newbie

    4myapple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
    #11
    YES! the SAME problem in Amsterdam :)
     
  12. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #12
    You should write to apple.
    https://www.apple.com/feedback/appletv.html

    It seems to be a software problem. talked to netflix, and showed them the problem. They told me they were working on a fix with apple. In regard of the other streaming apps, i recon this will be fixed with 11.1
     
  13. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Rye/London, UK
    #13
    I came here just now hoping to see that it wasn’t just me. It’s really annoying. I’m glad Apple and Netflix are aware of it.
     
  14. blxt macrumors newbie

    blxt

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Location:
    Sweden
    #14
    Wow! So it wasn't just me that had this problem! Really annoying, keeps happening to me also. Only when having swedish subtitles though....english seems to work fine! :)
     
  15. John Beretta macrumors newbie

    John Beretta

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2017
    Location:
    Denmark
    #15
    I have the same problem, and I can't get my ATV 4K to display the subtitle settings in my Netflix account. My old ATV 4 are showing the yellow subtitles just fine, but the 4K is still standard and white
     
  16. peppespizzapie Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #16
    Tought it was a "Dutch" problem, but now i see a lot of people from Scandinavia. Here it doesnt matter what language i choose. Dutch, Norwegian, Swedish. All the same problem.
    Phone'd the Dutch Netflix. Waste of time, like always. "Not our problem. Phone Apple".
    Phone'd Apple, "This problem is not known at us"
    Why bother? Were just customers, paying all the bills :-D
    Anyone else noticed that Netflix putting a LOT of "4K" on not 4K movies? The same as in Apple's Itunes.
    Are we swindled again? Like in the old day's with the first CD's? Putting LP's and even Music Casette's on a CD and calling it "digital"?
    I looked up a load of movies both from Itune's and Netflix. They were never filmed in 4K.
     
  17. 4myapple macrumors newbie

    4myapple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
    #17
    I ask a few friends with the new Apple TV 4K in Amsterdam..... They (all) have the same subtitle problems .... It doesnt matter what language they choose... This is a NETFLIX - APPLE problem.... 100% :-(
     
  18. peppespizzapie Suspended

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    #18
    Seen in Itunes there was a update of the app from 10-10-17
    So installed it. But no way. It isnt fixed :-(
     
  19. 2jan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2017
  20. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
  21. 4myapple macrumors newbie

    4myapple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
  22. danieleilertsen thread starter macrumors regular

    danieleilertsen

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #22
    Flatpanels.dk said this issue should been fixed with 11.1
     
  23. 4myapple macrumors newbie

    4myapple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam (The Netherlands)
    #23
    After the 11.1 update still subtitles problems.... but I re-installed the 4K total en clean the ram... It seems.... ;) I will inform you later..... Hope the subtitle problem is fixed......:) Ronald (Amsterdam)
     
  24. Novus John macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    #24
    You should definitely give me your viaplay account and password so I can investigate the problem on my own hardware.

    In my case, english subs work fine on netflix, so at least that's something. :)
     
  25. 4myapple macrumors newbie

    4myapple

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2017
    Location:
    Amsterdam (The Netherlands)

Share This Page

33 October 3, 2017