Apple Updates Logic Pro X and MainStage 3 With New Features

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Sep 27, 2018.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Apple today updated Logic Pro X, its software designed for professional audio editing. Version 10.4.2 of Logic Pro X introduces several useful new tweaks and updates to Logic Pro X features.

    Users can now relocate the Sound Library to an external storage device if desired, and Smart Tempo is able to analyze tempo data across multi-track recordings to define a Project Tempo. Smart Tempo also now analyzes the tempo of MIDI performances recorded without a metronome, and a new mixer mode lets channels strip fader and pan controls.

    [​IMG]

    A full list of everything that's new in the Logic Pro X update is below:
    Apple has also updated MainStage 3, which accompanies Logic Pro X and is designed to turn the Mac into a live rig. A long list of new features have been added to MainStage, as outlined in the release notes listed below:
    Logic Pro X can be downloaded from the Mac App Store for $199.99. [Direct Link]

    MainStage 3 can be downloaded from the Mac App Store for $29.99. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: Apple Updates Logic Pro X and MainStage 3 With New Features
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Thanks for the heads up guys, wouldn’t have known otherwise.

    Sadly, not showing for me as of yet... I was hoping the App Store on Mojave would be a bit faster. Still saying no updates. Even searching it in the App Store just says “Open”.

    Waiting just a few minutes for an update to become visible is like waiting for a pizza when it’s passed the expected delivery time. It’s never usually long from there but boy is it frustrating.
     
  3. djcerla macrumors 68000

    djcerla

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Uh? My Library is already on a 500GB SSD... maybe they made the process less clunky?
     
  4. JohnH108 macrumors member

    JohnH108

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    #4
    Cheers guys I got mine.
     
  5. givemeanapple macrumors Demi-God

    givemeanapple

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Just open the App Store go to the Updates tab and press command + r.
     
  6. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #6
    Really?! Mine's still on 10.4.1.

    still on 10.4.1.png

    Ah man don't tell me I'm gonna have to delete it and redownload it to get an update. I've looked at the release notes and it was 17 hours ago.

    Are you on Mojave?

    EDIT: I went to the "Updates" tab on Mojave and pressed CMD + R a few times. Refreshed the search and it's there, if anybody else is having the same problem. Didn't work by CMD + Q'ing & reopening, but CMD + R's your girl.
     
  7. anaudiopro macrumors 65816

    anaudiopro

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2017
    #7
    Glad to see that Logic is not being abandoned by Apple!
     
  8. hybra macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    #8
    More love to Alchemy, yessssss!

    and this...finally!...
    You can now undo mixer and plug-in actions
     
  9. djeeyore25 macrumors 6502

    djeeyore25

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2014
    Location:
    New York City
    #9
    Thanks!
     
  10. dysamoria macrumors 6502a

    dysamoria

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    #10
    Pretty sure that was in a prior update. 10.4, maybe. But yeah, took forever.
     
  11. JimmyJimmyYam macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    #11
    I love Logic Pro X, it’s the main reason I have a Mac. There really is nothing else like it.
     
  12. JohnH108 macrumors member

    JohnH108

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    #12
    Hmmm spinning beachball of death when I open musical trying even in a new Project.
     
  13. Joseph H macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    #13
    UI of Logic out of place now with dark mode. Needs darkening.
     
  14. givemeanapple macrumors Demi-God

    givemeanapple

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    My VST synths now lag while turning the knobs...
     
  15. mdriftmeyer macrumors 68030

    mdriftmeyer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #15
    Thanks for this previously not known to me feature. It did not show up until I initiated the command and presto! It was there.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2018 ---
    Perhaps they'll get an Audio Units update? I purposely avoid VST synth plugins because they aren't the native format for Logic Pro X.
     
  16. givemeanapple macrumors Demi-God

    givemeanapple

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2016
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    I don’t think so, I had the same happening in El Capitan and the only way I got rid of it was by updating to Sierra, I guess I got this problem back again.
     
  17. nathansz, Sep 27, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2018

    nathansz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    #17
    is mojave required?

    i best not mess with mainstage anyway since i have a show saturday
    --- Post Merged, Sep 27, 2018 ---
    logic and mainstage keep me on mac even though they aren’t selling macs that i want to buy

    i prefer mac os but i could live with another operating system if i had to

    but i love logic and mainstage
     
  18. triton100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    #18
    Totally. What’s that all about ?
     
  19. atlatnesiti macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    #19
    LoL, from people that brought you dark mode, no dark mode support
     
  20. triton100 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2010
    #20
    Lol !
     
  21. petsounds macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #21
    Honestly I feel like Logic Pro is some of the most impressive and user-focused software Apple is making these days. It's such a relief that Apple still sees its professional Mac apps as a priority for the company.

    I never understand though why MacRumors relegates Logic Pro announcements to the Mac blog when every tiny iOS announcement gets front page treatment.

    This seems to happen with every update. I believe the Logic team is still based in Germany, and it's always seemed that they're not really included in the loop about upcoming OS features. I imagine in the next update we'll see Mojave feature support.
     
  22. OS X Dude macrumors 6502a

    OS X Dude

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    We're currently supporting a college and they'd love to have the sound library installed on their NAS to cut download times (obviously this would then be shared to each user from the one install). Can anyone with a NAS confirm this is possible?
     
  23. JohnH108 macrumors member

    JohnH108

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    #23
    #12
    Spinning beachball of death when I open musical typing even in a new Project. Anybody else got the same problem?
     
  24. OtherJesus macrumors 6502

    OtherJesus

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    #24
    Logged in just to hype this!

    I can add my own photos to tracks and project notes!!!

    Thank the Gods!
    Been suggesting this for years.

    I mean, you could add pics to the Notes app on iPhone...
     
  25. ErikGrim macrumors 601

    ErikGrim

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    #25
    Those are some serious updates. No more "hacks" to move sound library to an external drive. Tempo detection! Really weird that they didn't add a proper Dark UI though, but I'm guessing that is a pretty tall order given how much non standard UI is in there.
     

Share This Page

39 September 27, 2018