AppleCare: licence to print money?

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by profmatt, May 30, 2015.

1. profmatt macrumors 65816

profmatt

I've been buying Apple products for two decades and I don't think I'd ever even heard of AppleCare until I started reading the AppleWatch forums.

There was a lot of adverse publicity in the UK a few years ago about extended warranties and the huge profits made by the companies who offer them.

There seems to be a lot of paranoia on these forums about damaging the watch. Do people worry in this way about everything the buy? Do people who buy non-Apple watches buy insurance products for them (other than for theft)?

At one point I was thinking of buying an SS Link and did consider AC+ as it's such an expensive watch. Yet, when I bought a "normal" watch that cost twice as much a few years ago it never occurred to me to buy insurance for it.

2. exxxviii macrumors 65816

exxxviii

My dad bought apple care for his sport. I do not plan on buying it for mine. I thought about my entire life's history of expensive gadget ownership, and an AppleCare-type product would only have benefited me like once or twice ever-- so, I would have been out thousands of dollars had I bought AC or something similar for every device. I choose to self-insure.

My only exception is an Apple desktop or laptop computer that I plan to keep for three years. For those, repairs are so prohibitively expensive that AC makes sense. Then, sell it after the AC warranty runs out.

3. erich1188 macrumors newbie

This is an interesting question. I have purchased AppleCare because it's saved my @#$ recently with a shattered iPhone screen. The convenience of going online, saying I broke it, and having them overnight a replacement is nice. I've dealt with third party insurance providers for old phones, and it was horrendous..

I also get renters insurance with special coverage on my iMac and laptop incase of power surge.