Apple's New O/S for 2009

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Mork, Jan 28, 2009.

  1. Mork macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    I just bought a MacBook Pro with OS X 10.5.6.

    My question is, when Apple ships the new Apple O/S ("Snow Leopard") this year, how do I go about upgrading my laptop to use it?

    Is upgrading an Apple O/S as arduous a task as upgrading Windows? I have a brand new MacBook Pro (15") so I'm hopeful I'll be fine from a hardware point of view...

    Any advice would be helpful.

    Thanks.

    M
     
  2. iTim314 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Location:
    U.S.
    #2
    You will be able to buy an install disk directly from Apple on the online store or any Apple retail store, which is also an upgrade disk.

    Literally, all you do is put the disk in, hit the restart button, and go watch an episode of Seinfeld. The most daunting thing you will have to do is select which drive to install it on, and that's it. It'll upgrade itself and preserve all your files/settings.

    Now, some will tell you that it's a good idea to back up your entire drive and do a fresh install, which is true, yes. That's what I will be doing. However, you're likely going to be able to just run the installer on top of 10.5.x with no trouble.

    Hope this helps. :)
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    listen to everything Chex said, i would like to add that you should wait until the 10.6.1 update comes out. ALL new OS's first updates are normally very buggy and can often quit on you. i did it with 10.2, 10.3, 10.4 and 10.5, if you wait until the 10.*.1 comes out then your normally as safe as you can get.
     
  4. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #4
    Wow, thanks to all!

    I should have known Apple would have painless upgrades (as opposed to WinBlows).

    Does anyone know what's new and cool in 10.6?

    M
     
  5. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #5
    Makes it sound a lot more painful than it is.
     
  6. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Nothing, and that's the point.

    Snow Leopard is optimization, not cute new features.

    I'm expecting 50% performance increases on everything that isn't a Mac Pro and 2x minimum on the Mac Pros.

    Also, it won't work on any computer that isn't Core 2 Duo.

    Core Duo is not Core 2 Duo.
     
  7. glasserp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    #7
    That's the first I've heard of that. Do you simply mean it won't see the performance gains as with a Core Duo? Because it sounds like you mean having a Core 2 Duo machine is a requirement.
     
  8. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #8
    At this point, I am fairly certain that you will require a Core 2 Duo machine to run the OS, as it is 64-bit.

    PowerPC is being dropped, and I can see Core Duo (32-bit) not working.
     
  9. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #9
    Faster is better!

    Now, if we could just get Paint Shop Pro to do a conversion.

    Snagit is going to be coming out on the Mac, eventually, finally!

    A few other tools like Enterprise Architect for UML and I'd be all set (no more VM Fusion, though VM works perfectly).

    M
     
  10. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #10
    That's probably why they introduced the Box Set now. Depending on your machine you buy either Leopard or Snow Leopard.

    "Which Leopard is Right for you? Come to any Apple store and our Geniuses will help you decide"
     
  11. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #11
    It isn't like Apple to support a legacy...anything. They are dropping support for an entire architecture by abandoning ppc and the only machine stuck in a 'time warp' if you want to call it that..will be the core duo machines. Oh, and the mac mini. If those users wanted to upgrade to Leo they had better get with the program sooner or later.
     
  12. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #12
    But to the average end user there should be little no noticeable difference.

    If you're running Tiger, upgrade to one of the Leopards. Which one will depend on your CPU.

    I can't see them abandoning a <3 yr old machine.

    I'm not saying this because I own a CoreDuo and don't want my machine dropped, I'm saying it because it's logical.

    They want to sell iWork and iLife. If you don't have a Leopard you need one.
     
  13. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #13
    The Core Duo is the current architecture, right?

    I mean I just got a MacBook Pro 15" and it has Core Duo I think.

    Won't 10.6 be compatible with the currently shipping products?

    Perhaps I'm confused what the other person was saying....
     
  14. claimed4all macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    #14
    The "Core 2 Duo" is the current architecture, there is a difference between the two.
     
  15. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #15
    Whatever the differnce... neither Core Duo (the first shipped Intel Macs) nor the Core 2 Duo (the 2nd Generation) nor Core i7 the current gen in the unibodies is anywhere near to be dropped by Apple any time soon!
     
  16. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #16
    Phew!

    I'm a Mac Newbie, so thanks for the clarification.

    :)
     
  17. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #17
    Yeah, they don't have Core i7 for two reasons.

    1. Core i7 is a desktop chip. Not even the iMac uses desktop chips. Not even the Mac Pro uses desktop chips.
    2. Notebook Nehalem won't be out until October.

    They're using Penryn. And the Core Duo... is probably going to be dropped.
     
  18. SimonMW macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #18
    There are not many new features *that we know about*. However in reality there are bound to be a lot of new things. We already know for example that it will have a new look.
     
  19. jcosmide macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #19
    Is that to say that the OS won't work on a Core Duo, or that the performance increases will be minimal on a Core Duo?
     
  20. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    I'm saying that it's probable that the OS won't work on a Core Duo.
     
  21. Apple Ink macrumors 68000

    Apple Ink

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    #21
    Oh ho... Skil you beat me again... :)

    Yes I forgot Calpella is still due this summer!

    But I disaree with the fact that Apple's planning to shed suppoert for Core Duo by 10.7 or 8...

    Thanks for the rectification!
     
  22. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #22
    It'll be gone by 10.7 easy, as much as that will tick people off...

    Heck, I'm under the impression that it'll be gone in Snow Leopard, but we'll see.
     
  23. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #23
    The Developer Preview after WWDC 2008 worked on Core Duo Macs.
    What's changed since then?

    To the Original Poster:
    Apple nailed installation a long time ago, before OS X.
    Problems, whilst not unheard of, are pretty rare.
     
  24. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #24
    Nothing. They also state that it will be an entirely 64-bit OS on the web page, and there is a crappy "32-bit mode" in the developer builds right now that has you restart an application to use it thus.

    So if it's 64-bit like they said it would be, Core Duo computers won't run it.
     
  25. Mork thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #25
    Now I'm really confused.

    I thought I had a 64-bit O/S in 10.5.

    Here's what I have. The machine is a two weeks old.

    Apple MacBook Pro MB471LL/A 15.4-Inch Laptop (2.53 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo Processor, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB Hard Drive, Slot Loading SuperDrive)

    ----

    Is this a 32-bit only machine? I'm running 10.5.6 now.

    What happens with 10.6?

    If I don't have a 64-bit capable machine, which Apple machines are?

    I thought I had a state-of-the-art new machine (64-bit and all that...).

    M
     

Share This Page