Applications that demand a certain screen resolution

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Wie Gehts, Oct 1, 2007.

  1. Wie Gehts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #1
    Hey guys...

    I'm wondering and may be worryng about nothing. I'm on a macbook and have Logic Studio. I just opened Sountrack pro for the first time and before it opens it says it recommends 1024x768 resolution or it can't guarantee proper performance blah blah blah...

    Now 1024x768 on the macbook doesn't go all the way to the screen edges and 1024x768 (stretched) is horrible and distorted. I use 1152x720, which looks normal and natural to me.

    Some other programs ask the same thing. Come to think of it, Logic also did but I just ignored it and continued.
    So, is this whole 'recommended screen size' a load of hooey or can it destabilize the application?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. squeeks macrumors 68040

    squeeks

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Florida
    #2
    Its not going to get unstable it'll just be a bit cramped
     
  3. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #3
    Are you sure it didn't mean that the recommended minimum is 1024. I can't see how any program would require the screen to be at a set resolution.

    LEave the macbook at the native resolution.
     
  4. Wie Gehts thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #4
    Thanks guys..

    Heres what the window says when opening the first time:

    Minimum System Checks

    This system does not meet the following minimum requirements:

    Sountrack Pro recommends a screen resolution of 1024x768; this system currently has a screen resolution of 1052x720

    This configuration is not supported. If you choose to continue, the software may not function properly or provide optimal performance.

    See the 'before you install' document on your installation disc for more information. (which basically just states recommended resolution...1024x768 and 1280x800 for logic)

    never show again (check box)


    So Logic and sountrack fully fits on my screen, edge to edge at my 1052x720 resolution. So, whats the point of asking for this specific resolution of 1024x768 when it doesn't really go with the macbooks screen? All this software is made to work on all machines.

    Like I says, I can't use 1024x768 on the macbook because it sucks...it either doesn't utilize the whole screen or is horribly stretched.
     
  5. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #5
    The Macbook's native resolution is 1280 x 800. This is the resolution that you should be running at for best performance/clarity.

    You are getting that error because you don't for-fill all the requirements i.e. 720 is less than 768
     
  6. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #6
    Yeah... if this is a (plastic) Macbook, put it back at 1280x800 and leave it alone.
     
  7. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #7
    To me, it looks horribly blurred. Try switching to 1280 x 800 and be surprised how much better everything looks.
     
  8. Wie Gehts thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #8
    Ahhhh, Ok, I see.

    I switched to the high 1280x800 rez. That window didn't come up.

    But now I need a magnifying glass!! :eek:

    Oh man...this is teeny tiny.....

    Thanks folks :)
     
  9. Wie Gehts thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    #9

    Really? Hmmmm. Not at all for me.
    That rez makes all the type a bit larger and more comfortable to read. Not blurry at all..just everything...icons, type...is larger.

    But I guess thats what 'command +' is for ;)

    Oooohh, I just discovered view options so's I can make the icons and their type larger...will wonders never cease.
     

Share This Page