AppStore San Andreas

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jigzat, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. jigzat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #1
    Hello everyone, I was thinking about buying GTA on the Appstore but I'm concerned about the speed. Is there such a big difference in performance between a native windows version and the Mac (Cyder) version?
     
  2. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    I wouldn't think so. I have GTA4 (I think) from the App Store and it runs fine. If you meet the requirement on the App Store page for the App you should be good to go.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    There shouldn't as long as your hardware is strong enough for it, which any Mac from 2007 onward is more than capable.
     
  4. jigzat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #4
    thanks for the answers. I didn't know GTA4 was also a Cyder port, have you compare it with the Windows one?
     
  5. WesCole macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    I just checked and it is actually GTA3...it runs well, though. I never played it on Windows, so I can't really compare the two.
     
  6. jigzat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    #6
    Thank you all for your answers, I decided to purchase it through Steam since I will get for the same price a Mac and PC version. The Steam version is also a Cider port and after testing each version I found out that there are some issues with the Mac version.

    My current set up is iMac 3.2 Ghz Intel Core i3 with 12GB ram running Mountain Lion, I disabled the transparent menu bar, the shadows, the 3D dock. The hard drive has been recently "defragged".

    For some reason (of course emulation) there are some artifacts that I think are some frame drops. When you pan the camera the movement is not smooth and you can notice some sort of chopping. The game resolution was set to 1600x900 which from certain distance I cannot tell the difference from 1080p at least while playing. It doesn't really matter if I choose low or high effects or limit the frames per second, it doesn't even matter if I set the resolution to 720p, the overal picture looks horrible and the chopping still happens.
     

Share This Page