Are all 7's & 7 Plus' unlocked?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JLEW700, Sep 23, 2016.

  1. JLEW700 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #1
    Hi guys,

    Im a little behind the times so sorry if this is a really stupid question but are all iphone 7's & 7 Plus' carrier unlocked as long as you buy for full price? Meaning it doesn't matter if I buy a tmobile, sprint, verizon, or att phone; as long as I buy it off contract and pay full price I can pop whatever sim in it and it will work?

    Thanks
     
  2. noobinator macrumors 603

    noobinator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #2
    They will be unlocked if you buy full price from Apple. There are 2 models this year.

    Verizon & Sprint = work on CDMA and GSM
    AT&T & T-Mobile = only work on GSM
     
  3. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #3
    No and you mean "world iPhone." Only the Verizon and Sprint models are world iPhones this year.
     
  4. JLEW700 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #4
    Thanks for the quick responses and clarification on "world iPhone"! Much appreciated!
     
  5. wepiii macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2012
    #5
    I bought a sprint 7+ model at full price from Apple Store. put in att sim and haven't had any problems!
     
  6. rambo47 macrumors 6502a

    rambo47

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Denville, NJ
    #6
    All Verizon 4G phones are factory unlocked out of the box. They've been doing that for a year or more now.
     
  7. DJLAXL macrumors 6502

    DJLAXL

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Location:
    UT
    #7
    So, if I purchase an AT&T iPhone outright with cash today from the Apple Store it will be unlocked for use on T-Mobile?
     
  8. Needs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    #8
    Are they the same as Sprint?
     
  9. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #9
    Yes.
     
  10. rambo47 macrumors 6502a

    rambo47

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Denville, NJ
    #10
    No. Last I heard, Sprint phones are still locked. Sprint is pretty good about providing unlock codes as long as you're a customer in good standing and have been so for six months.
     
  11. eyoungren macrumors Core

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    ten-zero-eleven-zero-zero by zero-two
    #11
    They have been doing this since September 21, 2012 at the very least. That date was the launch day for the iPhone 5, the first LTE-capable iPhone. Since the agreement with the FCC is that all Verizon LTE capable phones come unlocked out of the box - then this would be the date it all started for Verizon iPhones.

    No idea if there were LTE phones on Verizon before the iPhone 5.
    --- Post Merged, Sep 23, 2016 ---
    Sprint iPhones are unlocked if you pay full price from Apple.

    If you buy from a Sprint store you need to have the phone active on an account in good standing for 50 days - even if you pay full price.

    As a general note - iPhones do not use unlock codes. The IMEI is simply submitted to the unlock database by the carrier.
     
  12. wannabelean macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    #12
  13. JayLenochiniMac macrumors G5

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New Sanfrakota
    #13
    That website has inaccurate information because it claims that A1660 (Verizon/Sprint) won't work with at&t or T-Mobile and doesn't even mention that it supports GSM.

    From https://www.techwalls.com/iphone-7-plus-model-differences/

    1. A1660: The iPhone 7 A1660 is considered the global phone as it is compatible with both GSM and CDMA networks. This model is available in the United States, Puerto Rico, Hong Kong and China. In the US, you can get the A1660 on Sprint and Verizon, or when you buy the SIM-free version.

    Cellular bands:

    • FDD-LTE bands 1 (2100 MHz), 2 (1900 MHz), 3 (1800 MHz), 4 (AWS), 5 (850 MHz), 7 (2600 MHz), 8 (900 MHz), 12 (700 a MHz), 13 (700c MHz), 17 (700b MHz), 18 (800 MHz), 19 (800 MHz), 20 (800 DD), 25 (1900 MHz), 26 (800 MHz), 27 (800 SMR), 28 (700 APT MHz), 29 (700 de MHz), 30 (2300 WCS)
    • TD-LTE bands 38 (TD 2600 MHz), 39 (TD 1900 MHz), 40 (TD 2300 MHz), 41 (TD 2500 MHz)
    • TD-SCDMA 1900 (F), 2000 (A)
    • CDMA EV-DO Rev. A (800, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    • GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
    • UMTS/HSPA+/DC-HSDPA (850, 900, 1700/2100, 1900, 2100 MHz)
     
  14. LaidBack, Sep 24, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2016

    LaidBack macrumors member

    LaidBack

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #14
    I talked with an apple store employee today. They told me I would have to buy an iPhone 7 and register it with the designated carrier before it could be unlocked.
    I'm not sure what the unlock procedure is.
    If you compare the purchase screens with the iPhone 6s, it makes me think the iPhone 7 is not unlocked but unlockable.
    MacRumors post about 6s SIM-Free option.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. tallazzPilipino macrumors 6502

    tallazzPilipino

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    got that nomadic lifestyle
    #15
    taken from the Apple website...

    [​IMG]

    A1660 (Sprint & Verizon iPhone 7)
    A1661 (Sprint & Verizon iPhone 7 Plus)

    A1778 (ATT & T-Mo iPhone 7)
    A1784 (ATT & T-Mo iPhone 7 Plus)

    Reference: http://www.apple.com/iphone-7/specs/
     
  16. Makatak9777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #16
    Hello All Im new here and need some URGENT advise i just bought the iPhone 7 Plus Sprint from and apple store at full price basically unlocked. Just need to know if this is fully unlocked and can be used on Vodafone India. Would highly appreciate for a quick response as I am flying back tomorrow afternoon and if its not gonna work back home i still have the option for a return before i leave.. Thanks a lot in advance
     
  17. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #17
    I don't know what Apple Store you walked into and who u spoke with but I wouldn't talk to that same person, ever, again, because they must not have rung out an iPhone 7 purchase and didn't think to ask someone else for the fact before telling you that.

    If you buy online, you have no choice but to pick a designated carrier and they will force you to prove you have an account with them and so it will be "locked" like another poster on here with their Verizon and T-Mobile example.

    If you buy in store, the employee can ring it out and not activate the phone, therefore selling it to you 'unlocked'. You can't do this on financing and you can't do this with subsidized plans. It must be paid in full, credit or cash, at time of ring out.

    I could go on about why this is the way it is, but frankly no one wants to read an essay on here.
     
  18. tallazzPilipino macrumors 6502

    tallazzPilipino

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    got that nomadic lifestyle
    #18
    verify if the following is true for India...

    [​IMG]

    then cross reference it with the info in my previous post.
     
  19. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #19
    Which carrier?


    Aircel - 40 Airtel - 3, 40 Idea - 3 Jio - 40 Telenor - 3 Vodafone - 3

    Then look at http://www.apple.com/iphone/LTE/#iphone-7-iphone-7-plus
    --- Post Merged, Sep 24, 2016 ---
    ^
    --- Post Merged, Sep 24, 2016 ---
    merging posts, thanks
     
  20. Makatak9777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #20
    Thank You so much for the quick response but Im extremely bad at this and the network i use back home is Vodafone India so i dont even know how to check regarding this :(
     
  21. rainafterthesun macrumors 6502

    rainafterthesun

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #21
    Vodafone is lte band 3

    All phones (sprint, Verizon, att & tmobile) have it

    You're fine
     
  22. Makatak9777 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    #22
    Thank you so much you just made my last night in LA a happy one... I do travel a lot on business and now wondering if this is a good move for me.. cant be checking bandwith every time i visit a new country... why cant apple just release a fully unlocked phone on launch is beyond me...
     
  23. Superrjamz54 macrumors 6502

    Superrjamz54

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    #23
    The 4s came to Verizon. It wouldn't of mattered on either the 4s or 5 neither of them had a GSM chip on it.
     
  24. tallazzPilipino macrumors 6502

    tallazzPilipino

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Location:
    got that nomadic lifestyle
    #24
    I can't confirm anything for you other than provide info from online...

    https://www.frequencycheck.com/countries/india

    your phone model is on the back on your iPhone. should be A1661. just match up the Bands/frequencies.
     
  25. Superrjamz54 macrumors 6502

    Superrjamz54

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    #25
    Remember that IUP qualifies as cash and is unlocked out of the box.
     

Share This Page