Are new Pro's really coming?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Ames, Aug 20, 2009.

1. Ames macrumors member

I have an older 17" Pro. I'm really wanting a new uni-body with SSD. With Snow Leopard coming out and some announcement next month my head tells me to wait. I'm new to the Mac world so I don't have a good feel for product cycles. The searches I've done look like October or Feb would be the next update possibility.

Any advice? Anyone else thinking the same thing?

I get that with tech everything is always moving forward, but I'd really like to have at least 6 months with this thing before it gets passed by.

2. HLdan macrumors 603

HLdan

Well your head is telling wrong if the notion of new Macbook Pro's are in the wild next month, because they are not. Don't expect anything new until either January or Feb. Dude, a whole new set of MBP's were just released in June, Apple has never upgraded the line in under 6 months.

3. barkomatic macrumors 68040

I think you should wait. You've got a functional macbook pro right now so get some more value out it.

Is it that you're just bored and want something new?

4. Ames thread starter macrumors member

I hate the keyboard on the older 17's. Other than that it's just wanting the SSD and unibody. If I had really good reasons for upgrading I'd be all over it:)

5. jamesryanbell macrumors 68020

jamesryanbell

Did you look at the Buyer's Guide on this site? It's one of the tabs on the upper right part of the screen.

6. lunari macrumors member

lunari

The buyer's guide isn't always right though, I got my first mac a few months or so ago, and it said it's good to buy (mid cycle), a month later the updated macbook pros were released.

7. Ames thread starter macrumors member

I did. I wanted to get a feel from people more familiar with the product cycle as to if they thought (guess) that now would be a really dumb time or an ok time.

8. uberamd macrumors 68030

uberamd