Are the Macbooks worth it?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by zeero911, Nov 30, 2008.

1. zeero911 macrumors newbie

Hey, I am a prospective college student who is looking around for a laptop. I have kind of fallen for the new Macbooks and the Macbook Pros..... but they are definitely a little more pricey than some of the PC notebooks. I am looking for a quality computer I can do all my schoolwork on, perform well on everyday things (internet and whatnot), and be a nice entertainment system (movies, games, ITUNES!). I also have been interested in trying to do some video work and maybe some recording. I want something nice that I can pretty much do anything on, with good quality, but I dont want to go overboard. So please if there are some people with some experience with the new macbooks, are they worth the price and which would be better for me?

Im new to this so any advice would be much appreciated :)

2. mayanka89 macrumors regular

mayanka89

I just got the new 2.4 Macbook as my first new Mac. I completely think it is worth it, as I have spent far less time having to play around with the OS to make it work nicely.

Also, the hardware is well-built and feels like it can last.

I would suggest going to look at the Macbook in-store and seeing if you like the OS and the hardware.

3. OldCorpse macrumors 65816

OldCorpse

FAIL as far as MB. No FW - at all. Which means it is worthless for any kind of serious recording or audio work, (or for that matter, for serious video editing - can't hook up external FW HDD).

Your only option is to go for an MBP - which is a pain, and a lot more $$$.

Sorry.

4. DeusInvictus7 macrumors 68020

Who said he was doing serious video editing or audio work? He was "interested" in it, that doesn't mean that he will become professional right when he gets the notebook...