Are you Buying the New Final Cut Pro X?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by I AM THE MAN, Jun 24, 2011.

1. I AM THE MAN macrumors 6502

Im a video editor and I've been occasionally using Final Cut, however, reading the reviews on the Mac App Store, many say that its just an upgrade from iMovie, and it needs some major upgrades (i.e. Multi-Cam, etc). Are you going to be purchasing the New Final Cut Pro X? Do you think Apple will lower down the pricing? What are your opinions?

2. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

JesterJJZ

3. I AM THE MAN thread starter macrumors 6502

What don't you like about it?

4. Black Diesel macrumors member

What is the multi-cam function that is missing? Does it mean that if I go shoot with a 5DII, 7D, and rebel T2i I can't use the footage from each body in the same project??

I can't imagine they would leave this out....please explain.

5. MattSepeta macrumors 65816

MattSepeta

Multicam: [​IMG]

Used when editing from multiple feeds/cameras. Very helpful if you do anything like tv shows, sports, etc... Not helpful, necessary.

6. Black Diesel macrumors member

Okay, thanks for clarifying. I would not need this option.

In a nutshell, does everyone agree that FCPX will be a great program for newbies who are playing around with DSLR footage to make short films? Is there anything really important missing that even a non-pro might lust for?

7. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

JesterJJZ

Everything.

8. Alaerian Guest

Alaerian

I don't understand this. Somebody enlighten me. This software has been available for how long, and you're all already jumping on the poo-poo bandwagon?

9. Big Bad D macrumors regular

Yes, I plan to buy. But I clarify that I'm not a video professional and have never used previous versions of Final Cut, so the concerns being discussed don't really impact me (yet). I won't miss what I have never had.