At 29, considering returning to college

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by alm99, Jan 13, 2009.

1. alm99 macrumors 6502

Hello,
    I am considering going back to school for a graphic/web design degree. This is the kind of work I enjoy. I have spent the past 5+ years of my career in sales and I am burnt out and do not wish to pursue this any longer. I have a Bachelors in Marketing, but I do not have any formal training in the area of graphic/web design. All of the positions I have applied that relate to marketing want the piece of paper of formal education of graphic design in conjunction with marketing.

My concern is that the field is oversaturated and I would be wasting my time in the education. Is there anyone in the field with any insights or offer any guidance?

Thanks

2. neiltc13 macrumors 68040

neiltc13

Why is it when some people are talking about degrees, the one word they never ever say is "University"? I'd never describe the institution I attend as "school" or "college" because it isn't either of those things :p

3. atszyman macrumors 68020

atszyman

In the US College/University are used mostly interchangeably, and of course any furthering of education is considered "school." While you may not refer to University in that way in the UK, the terminology in the original post is very common in the U.S.

4. YouArentJ macrumors member

YouArentJ

I believe that has a lot to do with the country you live in... I went to "school" for my Masters :)

5. Rt&Dzine macrumors 6502a

Rt&Dzine

Your statement above seems like a good reason to switch careers. And you are still fairly young. Marketing could be a good background with graphic design.

6. leekohler macrumors G5

leekohler