AT&T LTE indicator not appearing in LTE-covered area

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by thetaco25, Sep 21, 2012.

  1. thetaco25 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #1
    My iPhone 5 says 4G even though I am in an LTE-covered area (NYC!!!)... so now what? Anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. madsci954 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Ohio
    #2
    How sure of the area, because I think some parts of NYC have LTE and some don't.
     
  3. thetaco25 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    #3
    The map on AT&T's website shows strong LTE coverage.
     
  4. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

    MattMJB0188

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  5. davariable macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    #5
    My phone was behaving like yours, too, but I toggled the LTE switch in settings, and that fixed it. Did you try that?
     
  6. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #6
    You can only be sure if you have another phone next to yours and they're getting LTE and you're not. Then it's an issue.

    ----------

    Doesn't mean dick. AT&Ts maps are very hard to interpret. The shades of blue are so close, you can't tell whether it's 4G or LTE.
     
  7. Orien macrumors regular

    Orien

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #7
    No, they aren't.
     
  8. beinhorn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Location:
    Woodland Hills,CA
    #8
    im in los angeles, no lte indicator for me either
     
  9. ethana macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #9
    Are you crazy?

    E
     
  10. CH34P3T macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Location:
    The City of Roses
    #10
    Try resetting the network settings. I didn't even have a 4G icon before that and now I have LTE.
     
  11. GfPQqmcRKUvP macrumors 68040

    GfPQqmcRKUvP

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    Terminus
    #11
    What are you even saying...
     
  12. mcdonoughdr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
  13. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #13
    OK, I can't tell.
     
  14. sfwalter macrumors 68000

    sfwalter

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas Texas
    #14
    Try going into setting and disable lte, wait a few minutes, reenable lte
     
  15. MBHockey macrumors 68040

    MBHockey

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    New York
    #15
    Also in NYC (UES) and out of the box it only said 4G. I reset the network settings and allowed it to reboot. After it said no service for a minute, 4G came back, and a minute later LTE showed up.
     

Share This Page