AT&T: Moving from simless to sim

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by garya73, Jan 10, 2014.

  1. garya73 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    #1
    How easy is it to move from a simless iPhone to one that uses a sim on AT&T? Do you have to call customer service, or can you activate the sim and "port" the phone number yourself?
     
  2. osofast240sx macrumors 68030

    osofast240sx

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    #2
    trade in
     
  3. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    Which iPhone model and carrier are trying to bring to AT&T?
     
  4. garya73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    #4
    A T-mobile 5. Already unlocked and have an AT&T nano-sim from Ebay.
     
  5. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #5
    If it's already unlocked, you just need to pop an activated SIM into the phone and it should work.
     
  6. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #6
    isn't that the basis for all SIM-technology? i'm not sure why there was any confusion from the OP regarding the subject. go to the AT&T store, ask for a SIM card for your iPhone and plug it in. Done.
     
  7. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #7
    You're correct. I'm not sure why the OP bought a SIM on ebay, AT&T will likely just GIVE him one if they're subscribing to a line of service.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    I have no idea what the OP is asking either.
    Both Tmobile and AT&T use sim cards.
    The tmobile iphone you have accepts sims.
    Where do you get the simless part or what are you asking again?
    If you contact AT&T they cant port your Tmobile number to AT&T and they will provide you with a sim card. As long as the phone is unlocked then it will work with any gsm sim in the world.
    And both Tmobile and AT&T are GSM carriers.
     
  9. garya73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    #9
    Sorry for the confusion. Current phone (the simless one) is an iPhone 4. I would like to move its phone number and my billing account to the new phone (with a sim card).

    I am asking if this can be done by me via the Att customer website, or do I have to contact customer service via telephone or visit an Att store.

    ----------

    Already have an iPhone 4 with a line of service on Att. Looking to move that line to the new Tmobile phone.

    I didn't go to the store because paying a few bucks on Ebay is easier than dealing with the store employees. Plus, I knew I was getting a sim card for a certain price, rather than the uncertainty of going to a store and being refused service, or charged a higher price for a sim card. This is my first attempt at moving from a simless phone to a sim phone, and using a device on another network. I figured I would take the path of least resistance.
     
  10. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #10
    Your whole "sim" and "simless" thing is/was very confusing. They actually have iPhones that don't even have or need a SIM card slot. :) So you're basically asking how you can transfer your AT&T service from an iPhone 4 to an unlocked iPhone 5 with a blank AT&T SIM card you bought online, yes?

    Anyway, I would have just recommended to go to AT&T to get it done through them. Quick and easy. Since you already have the SIM card though, you have to give them a call and read to them the number on the new SIM card so they can activate service on the new SIM.
     
  11. blarivee macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    US
    #11
    All phones with AT&T have a sim, including the iPhone 4. I don't see how that is SIM-free. I am as confused with everyone else here. If you are looking to use the iPhone 4 on T-Mobile, you have to get the phone unlocked.

    All AT&T SIM activation has to be done by a person. The website does not allow you to activate SIM on your own.
     
  12. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    You are thinking about this too hard. It isn't that complicated.

    First of all, your iPhone 4 on AT&T has a SIM card.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht5163

    You need to call AT&T, and ask them to activate the SIM you purchased on eBay. You'll probably have to tell them which line you want it associated with if you have more than one. If they're able to do this, just put the newly activated SIM in the the unlocked iPhone 5 and you should be good to go.
     
  13. mrbrown macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Location:
    Ozark, Missouri
    #13
    Uhh... Some of you are forgetting that a Verizon specific CDMA iPhone 4 was released. That model DID NOT have a SIM slot.

    I am assuming that is what the poster is talking about. But then he says he has service through AT&T, so I'm confused.
     
  14. T5BRICK macrumors 604

    T5BRICK

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Location:
    Oregon
    #14
    We're not forgetting about it, the OP isn't being clear about what they're trying to do. It SOUNDS like he just has an AT&T iPhone 4 and wants to replace it with an unlocked T-Mobile iPhone 5.
     
  15. Col Ronson macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    #15
    Exactly. the OP has mentioned AT&T Multiple times. EVERY AT&T iPhone has a SIM card; which is why i was like okay whats the confusion just remove the sim card?

    its likely the OP can't find the sim slot or he has a Verizon iPhone and actually has Verizon and is confused.

    Actually we're all confused. Just go into an AT&T store and ask for help.
     
  16. ugcop macrumors 6502a

    ugcop

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    Location:
    Traveling @ Warp Speed ...... USA
    #16
    Ok, let me take a stab at it. The op has a 4 on ATT. He has acquired a 5 that was on TMO.

    He buys a sim for the 5 off eBay.

    Disregarding all the sim / sim less talk.

    OP both phones have a sim. However, they are different sizes. So you will not be able to pull the sim from the 4 and put it in the 5. (There is a way to do this by cutting the sim down in size)

    The other issue is the TMO phone must be unlocked from the TMO system in order to put an ATT sim in it.
     
  17. garya73 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware, USA
    #17
    I just assumed the 4 did not hsve a sim, it wasnt mentioned in the specs when I looked. I am not in posession of the phone, I am helping someone else out, so I was unable to physically check if there was a sim card in the 4. My apologies for the wrong assumption.

    That beng said, thanks for the information that I can't activste it myself. I still have the card the sim came on, so I will pass that on to the phone's owner so they can activate the new sim.

    Thanks to all.who responded. I'll just go back to my corner, I've caused enough confusion in this thread.
     
  18. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #18
    That's not how it works. You thought wrong.
    You cant port a phone number just by purchasing a sim card online and without dealing with the new carrier.
     
  19. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #19
    Don't forget Verizon used SIM cards since 2011, but their SIM cards are R-UIM/LTE SIMs for CDMA networks. However the phones function on GSM networks just fine and most are unlocked including iPhone 5/5S/5C
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #20
    Yes, but he's talking about an iphone 4 and never mentioned anything about it being a Verizon iphone so no one is really sure what kind of device he has and what he's trying to do.
     

Share This Page