AT&T Offering Medianet Unlimited $19.95

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by SpaceKitty, Sep 27, 2009.

  1. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #1
    They are offering this once again but you have to call AT&T to get it added to your account. It will be activated on the billing date so mine won't start working until October 1.

    This is for people using GoPhone plans on their iPhones! Get a 3G iPhone and enjoy!
     
  2. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #2
    Thats great. Now my Edgey iPhone can get data on the cellular network, and not eat my balance. Just have to up my account to $30, because I have 6 cents left.:eek::eek:
    Is this only for Pick Your Plan? Or will it be for GoPhone Pay As You Go customers like me?
     
  3. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #3
    I don't think it matters which one you have. I have the Pick a Plan which is automatically billed each month.

    I got a text on Friday night telling me I could get the unlimted Medianet for $19.95.

    Just call AT&T and ask them about it. I'm excited about this!!
     
  4. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #4
    Yeah, I didn't get any text messages from them. Even If I had nothing in my account, I would still get a free txt from AT&T!
     
  5. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #5
    OK, maybe it does require the Pick a Plan.
     
  6. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #6
    I will call them tomorrow, though.
     
  7. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #7
    They are open now, no need to wait.
     
  8. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #8
    I thought they are closed on Sundays.
     
  9. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #9
    No! I called and added Medianet about 30 minutes ago.
     
  10. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #10
    I called. They said there is no Unlimited $20.00 data plan period. If you have the txt message, post a screen shot please.
     
  11. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #11
    whats the advantage of medianet over what i currently have?
     
  12. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #13
    Ok. I will call them again. But maybe it is only for Pick Your Plan.
     
  13. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #14

    Call back and ask for the Medianet unlimited.
    What do you have now? If it is an iPhone data plan, then it offers nothing new.

    If you are a GoPhone user using your sim in an iPhone, it allows you to have unlimited internet for a bit less money then an iPhone 3G plan.
     
  14. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #15
    i have the iphone data plan. i cant downgrade i suppose can i
     
  15. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #16
    This will mostly just help those who don't want an iPhone plan with a two year contract. With a GoPhone plan, it is month by month and you can cancel anytime.
     
  16. ouimetnick macrumors 68020

    ouimetnick

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Location:
    Beverly, Massachusetts
    #17
    I called back, and they didn't have a clue. The automated system doesn't know, or does the web site.
     
  17. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #18
    All I can say it keep trying. I know that the automated system doesn't offer it so that's why I called.

    I definitely have it.
     
  18. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #19
    iirc media net data plans are dead, its now data unlimted and its $15/month ($10/month if you have an unlimited family text plan) and not $20. maybe thats why the csr has no idea what hes talking about.
     
  19. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #20
    They are now offering the unlimited media net, see the screen cap above on what AT&T sent me. I signed up for the $19.95 Medianet so it is not dead.
     
  20. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #21
    what do you mean "now offering"? its been offered for years, and on top of that you are overpaying because the data unlimted is $15.
     
  21. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #22
    It's $15 if you got a GoPhone that requires a medianet account. It's $19.95 for Pick a Plan customers. I used a cheap $19 Samsung GoPhone to signup. There is no $15 plan for those phones.

    Otherwise, they only offer 1Mb and 100MB plans. The 100MB plan is $19. See the GoPhone website.

    Also, AT&T stopped offering the MediaNet unlimted last winter because too many iPhone users were signing up for it. They are again offering it.

    You can find out about this by searching for iPhone medianet.
     
  22. ruinfx macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    #23
    maybe im not seeing this on the site because it only shows pay per use, 1mb and 100mb plans for pick your plan. also could not find any option to add media net on the at&t site. is there a secret place you are looking?
     
  23. SpaceKitty thread starter macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #24
    It's not listed on the website. This is why I mentioned in post #1 that you have to call.
     
  24. bozzykid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #25
    It hasn't been offered for years. AT&T dropped MediaNet Unlimited from GoPhone users. The original poster is saying AT&T is now allowing the package to be added to GoPhone users again. Btw, I have not heard of "data unlimited" for $15. That would definitely be the cheapest unlimited data plan I have ever seen.
     

Share This Page