AT&T telling me I need a new data plan add-on?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by duelingdragons, Oct 7, 2011.

  1. duelingdragons macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #1
    [​IMG]

    I'm confused.
    I have unlimited data (was grandfathered in...)

    The $30/month it shows there makes me believe that Unlimited Data is still selected, but what the heck?

    I can't click to get more information, and when I hit "Change", Unlimited isn't an option.

    Am I fine?
     
  2. HighTopFade macrumors regular

    HighTopFade

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Location:
    Daly City
    #2
    I didn't make it that far. Once I read my Unlimited Data was going to be replaced, I back peddled real fast.
     
  3. NachoGrande macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    #3
    It's asking if you want to change it, but you can't change to an unlimited plan so you are ok...
     
  4. trouble747 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    #4
    You can keep unlimited, you just have to selected "unlimited data for iphone 4S" or whatever it says.

    They made it an affirmative selection presumably so that some would abandon it.
     
  5. duelingdragons thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
  6. Type X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #7

    Mine had Unlimited as one of the selections to "retain"
     
  7. duelingdragons thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #8
    Ah now that I use the Apple pre-order, I see the option to keep unlimited.
    Wow AT&T, stay classy.
     
  8. Type X macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #9

    I remember when i ordered the 4 that on the AT&T site unlimited was HIDDEN allllllll the way at the bottom of the page to keep it, very slick lol
     
  9. offcamber macrumors 6502

    offcamber

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    The iPhone 4s is not yet activated until you receive it and set it up.
    Before and/or during set up just contact AT&T via phone or at a store and explain what you want and what you had. They can see your account history and make adjustments.
    I'm confident that you can stay with your old plan if that is what you want.
     
  10. iTabone macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #11
    I did the same thing.
     
  11. duelingdragons thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    #12
    Man, why are there no options to pick up in store?
    And I can only ship to my billing address (home), but I'll be at work next Friday. Wow...
     
  12. greytmom macrumors 68040

    greytmom

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #13
    AT&T's site asks you to remove Unlimited for iPhone, and on the plan selection screen, it lets you select Unlimited for iPhone 4S.

    Probably a tricky move to get some to unknowingly give up unlimited data.
     
  13. mlpsponzischeme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #14
    Use apple's site

    I ordered mine from Apple and my unlimited data was an option. :)
     
  14. DPOIFVet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #15
    Ok cool. I've been scouring the forums this morning trying to figure out what was going to happen with my account.

    I used to work at Best Buy for 4 years and I have a 25% discount on my account because of that.

    When I had to basically sign up for a new contract when I pre-ordered from Apple this morning, I was scared out of my wits that I was going to lose that discount.

    I tried calling AT&T, but as is to be expected, I sat on hold for 10 minutes before I had to hang up and leave for work this morning.

    Thanks for putting my mind at ease!
     

Share This Page