AT&T WiFi Calling Live

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by eXoenDo, Oct 8, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eXoenDo macrumors member

    eXoenDo

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    #1
    I just was able to enable Wi-Fi calling in Minneapolis. I was not part of the beta before and I have an Unlimited Data Plan. Is anyone else seeing that this is live now?
     
  2. Tarp09GT macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #2
    Yes I just turned mine on. Will test when I get home as I get crappy reception at home.
     
  3. avanpelt macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    #3
    Turned it on for my iPhone 6. Fine print says it does not work outside the U.S., Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Bummer. Would've been nice to use it while abroad.
     
  4. EnJaNir macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Location:
    61114
    #4
    Thanks for the heads up. Just turned mine on in Illinois.
     
  5. Wise87 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Florida
    #5
    Just turned mine on in N.W. Florida (Pensacola Area). :)
     
  6. caligurl macrumors 68030

    caligurl

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    socal
    #6
    mine says: oops! We can't turn on Wi-Fi calling for your account.
     
  7. TechnicallyTee macrumors demi-god

    TechnicallyTee

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Location:
    Atlanta
  8. jmfangio macrumors member

    jmfangio

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Location:
    NorCal
  9. DHeck macrumors newbie

    DHeck

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Pgh, PA
    #9

    It working for me now as well, I live in Pittsburgh, Pa. Thanks for the post!!!
     
  10. protox macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    Carlsbad, CA
    #10
    Live in San Diego now. Looks like they just switched it on for everyone
     
  11. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #11
    Does this work on the 5S with 9.02? Or only 6 and above.
     
  12. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
  13. melman101 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    #13
    Are there any downsides to turning this on besides the potential 9-1-1 stuff?
     
  14. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #14
    Every so often I will get one way audio. I disconnect and call again but if the alternative is little to no signal I will take the double call. Its not every time but be aware you might have it until everything is 100% ironed out. Which now that its open to everyone it might be. I have had it since beta.
     
  15. minicard macrumors regular

    minicard

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    #15
    Will it work if you have VPN?
    Live here in Portland, OR !
     
  16. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #16
    Only 6 and above as far as I can see. It relies on the phones ability to use VoLTE which only the 6 and above can use.
     
  17. gsmornot macrumors 68030

    gsmornot

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    #17
    Yes, VPN is fine so long as the connection is not blocking the port. The service itself is fine with any connection you have that is a good quality wifi signal.
     
  18. DHeck macrumors newbie

    DHeck

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Location:
    Pgh, PA
    #18
    Hey all, so I turned on wifi calling and got the message saying it could take a few minuets. 30 min later still nothing, so I decided to do a reboot of phone, upon rebooting it I have the "wifi" showing now on top of my home screen. Could be coincidence but figured if anyone else couldn't figure out why it wasn't turning on, the reboot turned it on for me.
     
  19. mjcxp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #20
    Same, would not show up until I rebooted.
     
  20. crazyeyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    Easton PA
  21. mjcxp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #22
    Put the iPhone in airplane mode, turn on WiFi and try to make a call.
     
  22. solo118 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    #23
    Nice, too bad I am keeping 8.4 until a JB is out for ios 9
     
  23. crazyeyes macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    Easton PA
    #24
    That worked, so here's my question will it default to wifi calling when on wifi? Cause it seemed that when I was in airplane mode and on wifi calls were so much clearer than with airplane mode off and wifi still on. So I feel like it is using cell towers when it has signal and wifi only when it doesn't?
     
  24. ohio.emt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #25
    Probably a coincidence, if you had good cell signal when you switched wifi calling on the phone wouldn't have switched to wifi calling since it only uses it when signal is weak.

    AT&T currently only has it set to switch to wifi signal if the cell signal drops below a certain threshold.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page