AT&T's clock is slow

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Driller, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. Driller macrumors newbie

    Driller

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    #1
    I'm kind of a watch geek and noticed that AT&T's time displayed on my iPhone is about 00:01:40 (1 min 40 secs) behind my atomic watch. You can verify this your self at the time.gov web site. My Verizon phone was almost spot on. I don't know if this varies area to area or if it is nation wide. No big deal but made me go hmmm.
     
  2. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #2
    I think it depends more on your area because my at&t phone is spot give or take a few sec. I am to lazy to check it to make sure it is dead on but my watch is with in a few secs of the local atomic clock.
     
  3. Icedog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #3
    that's not bad, in South Bend, my ATT clock is about 3 minutes behind..
     
  4. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #4
    OMFG, do you think Apple will waive the restocking fee so I can return mine?
     
  5. tkidBOSTON macrumors 6502a

    tkidBOSTON

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    The Hub of the Universe
    #5
    Just checked mine in downtown Boston, MA.

    My iPhone is 3 seconds behind. :)
     
  6. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #6
    iMac is spot on

    ATT is 3 or 4 seconds slow... Las Vegas, NV USA
     
  7. mrat93 macrumors 65816

    mrat93

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    #7
    Westfield, NJ is 26.5 seconds slow. I doubt anybody here lives there anyway, but whatever.
     
  8. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #8
    Don't be late for work in the morning.
     
  9. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  10. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #10
    About 9 seconds behind here in Phoenix too.
     
  11. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
  12. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #12
    South Bend... i'm so sorry :(
     
  13. 509vista macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
  14. siurpeeman macrumors 603

    siurpeeman

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    the OC
    #14
    I just checked, and I'm about four seconds slow. it's no biggie since none of my phones have ever been exact. if I want exact time, I call for it. for those whose iPhones are severely behind, try turning off the preference to automatically set the clock and then turn it back on. it should readjust to a more accurate time.
     
  15. DiamondMac macrumors 68040

    DiamondMac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, D.C.
    #15
    [​IMG]

    Just kidding. My clock is fine though.
     
  16. CBragg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    #16
    Toledo, OH

    My clock was 5.5 seconds behind here in Toledo, OH. :rolleyes:

    I'd suggest disabling and re-enabling the Set Automatically setting just to make sure that it has the latest network time. I think GSM networks only update the time periodically.
     
  17. lavrishevo macrumors 68000

    lavrishevo

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Location:
    NJ
    #17
    One min and eighteen seconds slow in Puerto Rico.
     
  18. kevinwiz macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Location:
    socal
  19. RandomDeadHead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    fennario
  20. Icedog macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #20
    meh, Mishawaka really, but no one ever knows where that is.
     
  21. SheepNutz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Kantuckee
    #21
    It depends on where you are. Mine is 1:49 slow at my house, but closer to the real time at work, 60 miles away.
     
  22. desenso macrumors 6502a

    desenso

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    #22
    Grape Rd. treating you well?
     
  23. megfilmworks macrumors 68020

    megfilmworks

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks
  24. ccwilli3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    #24
    It was mentioned above correctly. GSM doesn't have stratum timing information encoded in its signal received from the base station. Every so often the phone will have to request the time to be updated manually. CDMA on the other hand has GPS stratum 1 timing built into the CDMA timing signal accurate to a minimum of 10 microseconds.
     
  25. Sobe macrumors 68000

    Sobe

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Location:
    Wash DC suburbs
    #25
    congratulations, we just independently confirmed the theory of relativity.

    well done.
     

Share This Page