Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kumamusic

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 28, 2007
I'm troubled but this may be much simpler than I thought. I'm a musician who writes music to films and will be using the following programs:

Digital Performer
Logic Pro 8
Pro Tools
Final Cut Pro( some in the future)

Can you recommend me the ATI (base card) ? I noticed that almost everybody here bought the 8800. And the fact that it takes 3-5 weeks to wait just for the 8800, is this card really that great (compared to ATI)?? Is it b/c you guys are all gamers/graphic artists ..? Confused confused ~~ :confused:

I had to cancel my order twice because of this issue about the graphic card. Help !! :(

Muncher

macrumors 65816
Apr 19, 2007
California
I'm troubled but this may be much simpler than I thought. I'm a musician who writes music to films and will be using the following programs:

Digital Performer
Logic Pro 8
Pro Tools
Final Cut Pro( some in the future)

Can you recommend me the ATI (base card) ? I noticed that almost everybody here bought the 8800. And the fact that it takes 3-5 weeks to wait just for the 8800, is this card really that great (compared to ATI)?? Is it b/c you guys are all gamers/graphic artists ..? Confused confused ~~ :confused:

I had to cancel my order twice because of this issue about the graphic card. Help !! :(

Unless you are doing anything video intensive, either will be fine for you. I recommend the 8800GT, as it is better than the 2600xt, and generally one of the best (think future proof), but if it's that much trouble, you can always pop one in later.

teflon

macrumors 6502a
May 28, 2007
The applications you listed aren't video intensive and can be done with even the integrated graphics, so you should be more than fine with just the ATI card. However, if you decide to get into FCS and use apps like Motion then you should upgrade to a better video card.

timestamp