ATT data outage? - looks like a local tower problem

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jc1350, Aug 31, 2009.

  1. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #1
    We're having a data outage in the Mt. Washington area of Baltimore City.

    Anyone else having problems?
     
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #2
    70 miles from Baltimore, and my connection is fine.
     
  3. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #3
    Network maintenance or upgrades.
     
  4. jc1350 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    could be. This particular tower seems to have a lot of "upgrades and maintenance" during business hours (it goes off-line far too often). Usually if I go far enough to be handed off to another tower, things start working. But, this is where I work, so I'm stuck with it.
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Could be the backhaul that tower is connected to has reached maximum handling, so they connect excess traffic to other towers. Hence, that's why you could suffering from poor performance.
     
  6. jc1350 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #6
    I'm getting no performance, not poor. There's no 3G, EDGE or GPRS icons on our phones, but we have full bars and can make phone calls with no problems.
     
  7. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #7
    Then I would call AT&T to complain.
     
  8. jshort macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #8
    I live in Bethany Beach, DE and have 2 iPhone in the house.. we've been having problems for a month.. texts are delayed.. calls don't come through.. voicemails don't come through...
     

Share This Page