ATT data package question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Clint1583, Mar 10, 2011.

1. Clint1583 macrumors regular

Still on the fence about which carrier. I only plan to use the 3G while on vacation/out of town, etc. and don't need a monthly plan. Can I just activate a 2 GB plan for one month at a time? Are there any fee's that go along with it? Also, what if I signed up for the 2 GB plan and got the free second month of service, could I just cancel it after that time?

2. Bheleu macrumors 6502

Verizon/CDMA is limited to us only. ATT unlimited grandfather plans still exist, ie. I would never choose Verizon.

3. iMule macrumors 6502

I travel for a living. AT&T sucks. It's a bummer to stay in a decent size town in a top notch Holiday Inn and not have 3G. AT&T is only good if the city you live in has it, witch is actually moot, because if you're static, you'll use more wireless. I used to defend AT&T until I started traveling.

I was so disgusted with AT&T last week that I was seconds away from buying a Verizon iPhone 4. Only thing holding me back was the 5 coming out this summer. Amazing I was surfing the web off a Verizon iPhone hotspot on my AT&T iPhone 4 that couldn't because I was on EDGE.

EDGE has been getting dramatically slower lately.

I'm not even thinking twice of the Verizon iPad. It's that real man. Go with the best coverage, not fastest. You'll be hopping from little 3G islands with AT&T when you're on the go.

4. MarkG21 macrumors regular

There are no contracts between either carriers. Start/Stop any time.

From what I hear, AT&T speeds are faster than Verizon. (I never had Verizon anything though).

Keep in mind, with Verizon, you'll incur a $35 activation charge when you sign up and if you resign up after being inactive for 3 months, you'll incur another $35 activation charge.

5. rudyo macrumors member