ATV 2 update cost $3

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by trip1ex, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. trip1ex macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #1
    Because it bricked my ATV and the only solution was to buy a micro USB cable and restore it from iTunes. So ATV is dead until next week when the cable is due to arrive from Monoprice.
     
  2. Amazing Iceman macrumors 68040

    Amazing Iceman

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Location:
    Florida, U.S.A.
    #2
    Well, it's better than having it remain as a brick forever. And when you get that cable, you can jailbreak it and add XBMC and really make your ATV 2 worth having.:D
     
  3. sandman42 macrumors 6502a

    sandman42

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Happened to me too, but I had the cable on hand. The initial download took well over an hour, and when it was done my :apple:TV gave me the "connect to iTunes" screen, then the screen went blank and the status light on the :apple:TV was blinking rapidly. Connected it to my computer and now the computer is downloading the update again!
     
  4. al256 macrumors 6502a

    al256

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
  5. jamesvdm macrumors regular

    jamesvdm

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #5
    3 whole dollars? That must have hurt. Or is the principle that matters? Early adopter blues.
     
  6. digitalhen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #6
    How is this early adopter blues exactly? Has anyone been able to update without it bricking?
     
  7. whooleytoo macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #7
    Yup. I tried updating a few times from the ATV itself and it just failed (but didn't affect the device); so I downloaded the update on my Mac and updated via USB and it worked fine.
     
  8. trip1ex thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #8
    I thought I had a micro USB cable, but only mini-USB cables. :( Even my compact Canon ELPH digital camera doesn't use micro-USB.

    Update would have cost $2o if I bought the cable locally. :eek:
     
  9. laurim macrumors 68000

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #9
    I did. No problems.
     
  10. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #10
    Nope no problems here either. It failed the first time, but it didn't brick it. I just redid it. I'm waiting until next week to do my other AppleTV. Only because the Apple servers were hit pretty hard last night and I figure there's no major rush.
     
  11. digitalhen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #11
    Yep - that did the trick for me too, thanks. Major inconvenience for non geeks though....
     
  12. waiting macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #12
    bricked me last time; OK this time

    This update went smoothly for me. The last one bricked me, and I had to spend a long time updating with a microUSB (from an LG cell phone) through iTunes on my Mac. (It seemed to hang for around a half hour just before completion, then it resumed and concluded.)
     
  13. laurim macrumors 68000

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #13
    I wonder if that's why people's ATVs are getting bricked. I started this update last night and went back to watching cable tv. Didn't look at it again until the next morning and it was finished just fine. Maybe people are trying to use the ATV before it's done updating and interrupting the process?? I know the first time I updated it I watched it like a hawk and kept trying to see if it was done before it was finished restarting itself several times. Dunno.
     
  14. jamesvdm macrumors regular

    jamesvdm

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    #14
    The bricking occurred because Apple activation servers were extremely busy and failed some requests. That's all I meant by early adopter blues.
     
  15. codelode84 macrumors regular

    codelode84

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #15
    My updated no problem this morning. Thankfully.
     
  16. trip1ex thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #16
    Yes probably this. But mine seemed to download the update fine. It bricked when it was almost done installing it. I think it is a two step process.

    If the downloaded update was corrupted then that means they don't verify it before installation.
     
  17. Blorzoga macrumors 68030

    Blorzoga

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    #17
    Never had a problem. Worked perfectly, although mine is hard wired not wifi
     
  18. Joe-Diver macrumors 6502

    Joe-Diver

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    #18
    I finally updated this morning.....tried a few times at launch but the servers were overloaded.

    Did it this morning and it went fine, no issues.

    I really like the new NHL GameCenter. (new for ATV2) I've already paid for Center Ice on DTV so I'm not paying another $160...but the replay highlights are cool, standings and other stuff make it really nice.

    Maybe next season I'll get GC instead of CI...maybe....I've read from others that the blackouts are exceptionally bad on GC, as compared to CI....
     
  19. trip1ex thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    #19
    MIcro USB cable came today. REstore via it worked fine. Now working.
     

Share This Page