ATV 4K Audio settings

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by oskarbar, Feb 23, 2018.

1. oskarbar macrumors newbie

Hi, I've the ATV 4K wired to my Samsung UE55JU6400 TV (which is 4K and theoritecally non-HDR, but plays HDR content; this is another history), and from the TV via HDMI ARC channel, wired to a 5.1 setup (Samsung MS-650 with subwoofer and rear speakers, I love this setup)

The question is; in the ATV Audio settings I can choose between "Best Quality" or "5.1 output". Should I directly go with the 5.1 option, or let the default option of Best Quality (which in my case seems nonsense)?

Regards!

2. protobiont macrumors 6502a

So, I am no expert. But I have a similar set up and I’ve done a lot of reading. Hopefully someone can correct me if I am wrong.

I’m pretty sure you should choose the 5.1 output option. From all I’ve read, the “best quality” option sends an uncompressed pcm signal, and no current TV will pass that through over ARC, so you only end up with a 2.1 pcm signal.

3. oskarbar thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok, this is an interesting discussion.

What I've read regarding how the audio is being transported through the HDMI, is that you usually can select Bitstream or PCM. In the Bitstream option the TV does not process the audio and sends the information bit by bit; in this case audio will be processed by the AV receiver (by your 5.1 system). In the second case, the TV does all the processing and directly sends the audio for each channel in PCM format. This is my understanding (please correct if wrong). I've tested with both settings in my TV and actually didn't notice any difference. I can hear 5.1 audio in both cases.

Now, returning to the ATV settings.. Does "Best Quality" means Bitstream (audio not processed by ATV), and 5.1 means PCM DD5.1 (audio processed and splitted into channels by ATV)??

Good question

4. priitv8 macrumors 68030

5. oskarbar thread starter macrumors newbie