ATV3 home sharing issue

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by markoid63, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. markoid63 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #1
    I just got a new dual band wireless router running a 2.4 ghz and 5ghz band. I am running my MacBook on the 5ghz band so then connected my ATV3 to that band as well. But home share from my Mac won't connect. I can go to all other ATV3 apps no problems. Tried all the usual turn on and off of all devices but no luck. But oddly, I changed my Mac and ATV3 over to the 2.4ghz band and home sharing became available. I have tried checking everything that I can think of but am totally stumped. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #2
    Try setting the 5 GHz band to a different channel. For a minimal amount of info, just hold down the OPT key when clicking the wifi icon in the menu bar. If you need more info, something like Wifi Explorer (App Store) can help see what neighboring access points are using.

    It sounds like you've created a separate 5GHz SSID, if not, doing so will give you the ability to select which band you want to connect your device to. Anyway, after selecting a different channel, you can then set both devices to the 5 GHz band.
     
  3. markoid63 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #3
    Thanks for the reply. Yes I have created 2 separate wi-fi networks for each band, figuring I could pick which one I want on a device. Channel setting is auto, should I change it and pick a channel for each?
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    Just based on my own experience with both the previous gen AEBS and the current ac version, I can leave the 2.4GHz band on auto, and manually set the 5GHz band. If you hold down the OPT key while clicking on the WiFi icon in menu bar, you can hover over other access points to see what channel they're using, and help guide you to one you can set (usually setting yours to a channel "far away" from another's is a good way to start).

    The app I mentioned does a more complete job of visualizing what channels and signal strength access points around you are using.
     
  5. markoid63 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    #5
    Thanks for the help, I managed to sort it out. I did a total restore on the ATV3, and it worked. Drastic measure, but solved.
     

Share This Page