Auto-Brightness Toggle missing...

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by JemTheWire, Nov 15, 2016.

  1. JemTheWire macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #1
    Not sure where is the best place to post this, but here goes,

    I have a new iPhone 7 Plus - great phone and am well pleased with it, but I noticed that the Auto Brightness toggle option is missing in Settings> Display & Brightness.

    I can manually adjust the brightness setting, but it does not appear to auto adjust. I am running iOS 10.1.1 (build 14B150)

    I have tried a hard reset, but it's still missing.

    Any ideas why it's not there and how I can get it back please?

    Thanks
     
  2. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #3
    Has it ever been there?

    I've seen 2 different solutions:
    1. A hard reset which fixed it.
    2. Taking it to Apple and they were flummoxed and replaced the phone.
     
  3. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #4

    To be quite honest, I don't know whether it has ever been there. I have only had the 7 Plus for a week.

    I have tried Reset-All-Setting, but that made no difference.

    I can manually adjust the screen brightness. Attached is a screen shot of the settings page.

    [​IMG]

    Everything else is working fine.
     
  4. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #6
    So bizarre.
     
  5. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #7
    Unless the Auto-Brightness toggle has moved to another settings tab?

    If it has, I can't find it.
     
  6. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #8
    Nah. It would be there if it were anywhere.
     
  7. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
  8. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #10
    I am thinking that myself.

    I guess if I make a backup before I factory restore, I can restore my device from the backup if it makes no difference to the issue.
     
  9. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    I think a restore will do the trick. Keep us updated.
     
  10. Givmeabrek macrumors 68040

    Givmeabrek

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    NY
    #12
    Sounds like more of a hardware problem. The connection to the ambient light sensor or the sensor itself is faulty. The switch is missing because it can't communicate with the sensor. Time for a replacement.
     
  11. bufffilm Suspended

    bufffilm

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #13
    First thing the store help will do is a restore...so backup. Then restore on your own if you want to save time.
     
  12. Mlrollin91 macrumors G4

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #14
    Restore as new first. If the toggle returns, then restore your backup. If it disappears after the restore from backup, your backup is 'damaged' and you will need to restore as new again.
     
  13. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #15
    I have 'Restored as New', but no difference, the toggle is still missing.

    Shame as that's all that's not working.
     
  14. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #16
    As already mentioned, that's unfortunately indicative of a cable/ribbon/sensor malfunction. You'll need to have your phone replaced.
     
  15. macTW Suspended

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2016
    #17
    I know some regional builds restrict certain settings (like Japan, shutter sound is locked on for photos), so perhaps you were sent a build that was a test build, or never released, or maybe somewhere in the world the autobrightness slider is gone and you got that bulid. Restore should work, otherwise Apple should swap it out.
     
  16. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #18
    I have had a Web Chat with Apple support. They accessed my iPhone and confirmed it is a hardware issue. I'm not a happy bunny.

    I now have to make a Genius appointment. Trouble is there is a long wait time in my area.

    Thanks for all your help everyone.
     
  17. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #19
    No express replacement ?
     
  18. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #20
    If you make an appointment with a genius, keep checking the re-schedule toggle every few hours. I originally had an appointment a week away, and later in the day was able to change it to the next morning.
     
  19. willmtaylor macrumors G3

    willmtaylor

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    A Natural State
    #21
    Hadn't thought of this. Thanks!
     
  20. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #22
    I have just checked my two closest Apple stores, Trafford Centre and Manchester Arndale, and it says no appointments available at all.

    I will keep checking as you say.

    Thanks.
     
  21. Steve686 macrumors 68030

    Steve686

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Location:
    US>FL>Miami/Dade>Sunny Isles Beach>Condo
    #23
    People cancel before their appointments. Opens up spots. People also don't show at the store, helps get you in on standby.

    I've walked in my local Apple Store numerous times and waited for a spot without appointment...with success.
     
  22. JemTheWire thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Location:
    Manchester (UK)
    #24
    I decided to attack it from a different angle.

    As the phone is less than two weeks old, I called my carrier, O2, from where I got the phone on contract. As there is a cooling off period of 30 days, they will replace the faulty phone like-for-like and send it to my home.

    There is a delay of about tree weeks due to demand for the 7 Plus, but that isn't a issue for me as, in reality, apart from the Auto-Brightness not working, its a perfect phone.

    He didn't do any diagnostics with me, just taking my word that I had chatted to Apple last night and their remote diagnostics confirmed the problem, which is the truth anyway.

    It is better to have it replaced. If the ambient light sensor or connection is faulty, it could indicate further issues down the line.

    I know this might sound silly, but I am still wondering if a software bug could cause this. I don't have much faith in iOS 10.

    The whole reason for me getting a 7 Plus was to replace my 6S that was shutting off at silly battery percentages that had only started to happen since the iOS 10 upgrade form iOS 9.

    It was a good excuse, as I really wanted a 7 Plus, lol.

    Thanks for all you advice guy's. I appreciate it.
     
  23. tomjleeds macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #25
    Good call on going to O2, IME there's usually a long wait for Genius bar appointments round here :(
     

Share This Page