Auto-Save & Versions with Photoshop CS5?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Orlandoech, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. Orlandoech macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #1
  2. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
  3. baryon macrumors 68040

    baryon

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    #3
    I doubt Adobe would update it. Imagine working on a 2GB PSD file for 4 hours, you would accumulate a terabyte of incremental backups. That would suck.

    I also highly doubt Adobe will add the functionality. They are making Photoshop for Mac and Photoshop for Windows strictly identical. Since Windows doesn't have versions, the Mac Photoshop won't have it either, I think.
     
  4. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #4
    i don't think it works like that (but, i don't know.. haven't used it yet)

    from what i understand, versioning is only saving the differences between different versions..

    ie- have a 50mb file and add a line to it.. autosave/versions isn't going to re-save all 50mb.. just the line.

    could be wrong..
     
  5. tkermit macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #5
    For whatever it's worth, Apple claims that "Lion saves changes in the working document instead of creating additional copies, making the best use of available disk space." We'll see how it'll work in practice, or people can have a look at the APIs once they're out in the open.
     
  6. Orlandoech thread starter macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  7. flat five macrumors 601

    flat five

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Location:
    newyorkcity
    #7
    download the 30 day trial for now and see what happens over the next month..
    then decide.

    http://tool-forcesw.com/foreversave/
     
  8. Orlandoech thread starter macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #8
  9. Yamcha macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #9
    I've used Developer Preview 3, and this auto save feature only works with Native Mac applications, so I don't think we'll see support for it from Adobe, at least I don't think so..
     
  10. Orlandoech thread starter macrumors 68040

    Orlandoech

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #10

    Thats what I was thinking, thanks.
     
  11. djrod macrumors 65816

    djrod

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Location:
    Madrid - Spain
    #11
    No, you don't. The versions saved are incremental, only saves the differences, not the whole file.
     

Share This Page