"Available updates have changed..."

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by Ambient80, Sep 7, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Ambient80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #1
    Hello all!

    I don't post here much, but I'm having an issue with the beta and I cannot update my system!

    So the App Store says I have an update to Beta 7 available. I tell it to install and it says that it's going to restart. After the countdown, it says that "Available updates have changed" and sends me back to the app store, where the same update is waiting to be installed. Clicking install just sends me on this same loop over and over again.

    I'm running a mid-2014 rMBP 15" if that's any help at all.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  2. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #2
    Try it from the command line:
    Code:
    sudo softwareupdate -ir
    It will tell you when it’s done.
     
  3. Ambient80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #3
    Hey! Thanks for the suggestion :)

    I did as you said. It began looking for updates, and said that one had been downloaded and was ready to install, and to please restart immediately. I did so, and when it finished restarting...nothing had been done. I still had an update ready to download in my App Store, and it still send me on the same loop I described above.
     
  4. KALLT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    #4
    Does it also show you the update again when you call this command?
    Code:
    softwareupdate -l
     
  5. Ambient80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #5
    Hello again! Sorry for the late reply, was a bit sick yesterday.

    I will try this when I get home from work, as I do not have my laptop with me at the moment. I'll post an update when I give it a shot.

    Thanks again!
     
  6. Ebenezum macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    #6
    I had similar problem in previous beta and only solution was to download newer installer from App Store, create install media and install Sierra again. Maybe it occurred because I run it in VM but if nothing else works you could try it...
     
  7. Ambient80 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    #7
    @KALLT

    Sorry it took so long for a reply, work has been hectic lately.

    Your last suggestion showed the update again once I entered it. However, after rebooting yet again, it finally decided that it would update, and it worked! Now on the GM seed :)

    Thanks for the help, everybody!
     

Share This Page