Average age of the macs you've used

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by emir, Apr 6, 2014.

?

How often do you change Macs?

1. Every year

8 vote(s)
    6.1%
  2. 1-2 years

13 vote(s)
    9.8%
  3. 2-3 years

27 vote(s)
    20.5%
  4. 3-4 years

27 vote(s)
    20.5%
  5. 4-5 years

27 vote(s)
    20.5%
  6. 5+ years

30 vote(s)
    22.7%
  1. emir macrumors 6502a

emir

I just want to make a quick survey in the forum for how much people use their macs. I've got the feeling the turnover would be really low for macs. I've been using mine for a full 4 years now and all I did was swap the superdrive with an SSD and fusion drive hack them via the terminal. I don't do professional editing or movies but I do excessive number crunching, browsing and occasional photo editing. My Mac can still handle all of them fairly good.

Despite it being 4 years old I have the feeling I can squeeze out at least 2 more years out of this bad girl. The battery life is still ~3.5-4 hours as well.

How often do you change macs? What's the current situation and how was it in the past?

2. rapicell macrumors regular

The first mac I owned was the late 08 unibody that I purchased about a month after it was released. I used it until this past december where I upgraded to a mid-2012 15'' MBP. Though before those two, I've been using macs in school since 1996, which is clearly what got me hooked. That and the obscene amount of viruses that windows can get was driving me crazy

3. 5to1 macrumors regular

If its working well for you, save your bucks and keep using it. If its holding you back, affecting your productivity significantly, etc then change it. :)

4. KUguardgrl13 macrumors 68020

KUguardgrl13

Used my mid-2009 MBP until I updated in October. But the 09 got a new lease on life as a home-only machine. So I'm still using it but not as much.

5. dbam987 macrumors regular