AW for long runs/marathon

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by vtboyarc, Mar 19, 2016.

1. vtboyarc, Mar 19, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2016

vtboyarc macrumors regular

vtboyarc

Hi all! I'm sorry if this has been asked, I did search the forums but didn't find anything.

I currently am training for a marathon (one of my New Years Goals). I have my iPhone on an armband while I run, however it is tedious to try and look at it to see my pace, distance, time etc. I was looking at different GPS running watches, but I was curious if anyone here has used an AW for running long distances, and if so, how reliable was it, does the battery last the duration of a long run while using an app such as Nike Running?
    Any thoughts/feedback on it would be appreciated!

Edit: Is the Apple Workout app, which I see from videos on the Apple website has options for indoor and outdoor run, work well enough for pace and distance? And, does it use GPS from your phone, or can I use that app without needing my iPhone on me?

2. rbrian macrumors 6502a

rbrian

This morning, for http://www.sportrelief.com, I did 3 hours of HIIT, FBX, circuits. I used the UA Record app, since my favourite, Motifit, keeps crashing, and the standard Workout app doesn't have enough features. It worked fine, and now 8 hours later I still have 32% battery. Of course it depends how often you use the screen (I only looked about 5 times, there wasn't much standing still and it's hard to see when you're moving your arms!), and how fast you can run. Next month I'm doing the http://www.thekiltwalk.co.uk/, a 26 mile walk, which I expect to take about 8 hours, so I'll be able to give it a proper test then.

3. exxxviii macrumors 65816

exxxviii

I have pushed mine past 4 hours workouts a few times. My longest is 4:45. I think it could support you for well over 5 hours, but 6 would probably be pushing it.