AW3 No option to set up cellular

Discussion in 'Apple Watch' started by wolverinewizard, Oct 6, 2017.

Tags:
  1. wolverinewizard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #1
    Hey all, so I got my AW3 Edition (White) today, and when setting it up I noticed it never offered to set up cellular. Went into the watch app on the iPhone, and there's no "cellular" option to select there either! Running iOS 11...any ideas?
     
  2. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #2
    Are you sure you got the LTE version of the watch? Sorry if this is a silly question.
     
  3. Breezygirl macrumors 6502

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #3
    I never got a prompt to set up cellular either when setting up my watch. I do see it in the settings, if clicked on it shows that my carrier doesn’t have the service.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. wolverinewizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #4
    Yeah, the "Cellular" in the menu is missing from my apple watch app. Goes right from "General" to "Brightness and Text Size".

    Yes, it's the Edition version, it's LTE.
     
  5. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #5
    Wow that’s certainly strange, I would advise you contact Apple, either by phone or their 24hr online chat.
     
  6. dave006 Contributor

    dave006

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Location:
    Just West of East
    #6
    So these steps don't work? Does your Box show the EID and IMEI information on the bottom?

    Setup Cellular:
    1. On your iPhone, open the Apple Watch app.
    2. Tap the My Watch tab, then tap Cellular.
    3. Tap Set Up Cellular.
    4. Follow the instructions for your carrier. You might need to contact your carrier for help.
    Dave
     
  7. wolverinewizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #7
    It's the "Cellular" option (step 2) that's missing...it simply doesn't exist under the my watch tab.
     
  8. Breezygirl macrumors 6502

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #8
    Agree, it should be listed
    wondering what country your in, is LTE an option?
     
  9. wolverinewizard thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    #9
    Figured it out! I still had iOS 11, but the beta version. Had to force an update to beta 11.2, fired up the watch app, and there it was.
     
  10. deadworlds macrumors 6502a

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #10
    Can you check once you activate, if in the watch app under phone you see. WiFi calling setting.
     
  11. big samm macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    #11
    Same here! Can’t wait for Rogers to support this, im tempted to get a new line with bell just to test it out.
     
  12. Breezygirl macrumors 6502

    Breezygirl

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    #12
    Hopefully soon, the last I looked their rep was tweeting they would look into possibly adding it to their profolio in the new year. Just looked again and they say they need to build the system functionality to support it.
     

Share This Page