Backgrounder: What do you have "always-enabled"?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ngenerator, Mar 16, 2010.

  1. ngenerator macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #1
    :)

    I just figured I'd switch it up for once, as opposed to having another "OMG, I totaly updated to 3.1.3 and needz to downgrade asapp!" thread.

    What exactly, if you have Backgrounder, do you have always enabled so it doesn't close out when you hit the home button? I have Sirius/XM and Cydia set, just because it can be a pain to have to wait for them to load all the way back up again.

    I just got rid of having YouTube always enabled, just because it didn't update my subscriptions without closing out completely. I'm just looking for more things to add to my always-enabled list.

    Thanks in advance for any ideas you have!
     
  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    Just Navigon when im using it so if I get a call or text it doesnt close down and have to restart again.
    You def dont need cydia running open all the time.
     
  3. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #3
    Oh yeah, definitely not, only if I get sidetracked once it's opened and I have to go and reply to an email or something. It definitely beats needing to have to wait every single time I open it in a short period of time.
     
  4. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #4
    PreBrowser (full screen browser) so that it acts more like Safari.

    Shazam because I don't like to sit there and wait for the song.

    GPSPhone when I play games.

    Everything else I'll just do on a case to case basis.

    For this, I would recommend NoCyFresh. Some try to claim that it is a dangerous package, but I can assure you it is not. Cydia has gotten better recently in that it doesn't completely block you out from using it while refreshing, but it is still annoying. With NoCyFresh (a SBSettings toggle), you eliminate this. It only refreshes when you manually hit the refresh button.
     
  5. Vandam500 macrumors 68000

    Vandam500

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    #5
    -Slacker
    -PreBrowser
    -ooTunes Radio
    -Skype
    -Remote

    If I am using another app a lot then I'll just enable it manually so it can open up faster like BeejiveIM or Facebook.
     
  6. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

    gixxerfool

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #6
    Slacker and cydia. Everything else is done manually.
     
  7. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #7
    Has anyone else had any experience w/ NoCyFresh? I'm leaning toward the fact that it's not that big of a deal to wait a few extra seconds when I open Cydia, but just wondering anyone else's mileage with it?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    I'm sure I read that it can corrupt Cydia. I got rid of it a day after I put it on and guess what, later had to do a restore to fix Cydia.
     
  9. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #9
    I've never had this problem. And I've been using it since it came out.

    It can only "harm" Cydia if there is an update to Cydia. And even then, it will just leave NoCyFresh defunct.

    (Information from the creator of NoCyFresh.)
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Heres the badge Im using.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. tctony macrumors 6502a

    tctony

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #11
    Think ya got the wrong thread Juice :p.

    Sweet badge though. I use the LeoBadge badge myself.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    Oops, sorry about that :D
    I meant to post on the other thread where the OP was asking for badges.
     
  13. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #13
    ^Ahh, could be that I was posting in both today ;)

    I'm gonna err on the side of caution and pass on the Cydia non-refresher. It's not that big of a PITA to wait a few extra seconds for it to refresh after opening :) Thanks though!

    I was actually kind of hoping to get a lot more ideas on apps to auto-enable, but these will be a good start until I do a little brainstorming
     
  14. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #14
    Yes I'd also suggest to skip on the Cydia non-refresher thing.
    With the latest update cydia has became quicker than before anyway.
     
  15. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #15
    Ahh, snappier is always nice ;)

    Edit: what was updated? I'm not showing one, and don't remember a recent one at all :confused:
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    If I can remember correctly it was APT 0.7 HTTPS and one other thing on the update that made repos and everything else load up and start up faster on cydia.
     
  17. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #17
    Ahh, now that I remember. That was about three weeks ago (had to check saurik's twitter for that, lol). I've had the 3GS for probably two weeks prior to that, so tbh everything has been super snappy since mid-February for me (compared to the 3G) :)

    Sh** dude, we had this convo back then, lol: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=873419&highlight=
     
  18. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #19
    If the latest update is considered fast, then before it must have really been bad. I'm tempted to add Cydia to Backgrounder, as well. What's the deal with the search? You click a letter, have to wait about 10 seconds, click another, wait 4-5, click another, etc.
     
  19. gixxerfool macrumors 6502a

    gixxerfool

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #20
    While it is fast--er, I do agree with you. But if it's speed accounts fortue stability over Rock, that's fine by me.
     
  20. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #21
    Yes, it was worst before.
    You're using a 3G model right?
    Yes, I noticed the same thing on 2G and 3G iphones. You search and have to wait 5 seconds till the clicks register.
     
  21. ngenerator thread starter macrumors 68000

    ngenerator

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Location:
    USG Ishimura
    #22
    Or you can just type really quickly and have your iPhone do like 10 clicks in a row when searching. It sounds hilarious!
     
  22. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #23
    Right. It's even worse when I make a mistake. For some reason, many times, I can't backspace to delete and I have to x out and start all over again.
     
  23. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #24
    Yes, same here.
    I think its a bug with cydia.
    I see you joined the dark side :D
     
  24. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #25
    Had to. Lost tethering, because I lost downgrade ability from how I used to downgrade. I still have no idea why I couldn't downgrade, because I think the last refurb I got in December had 3.1.2 and I downgrade that to 3.0.1 with no problem.

    So far, the Dark Side is quite nice.
     

Share This Page