backing up is taking for ever for the ios 4

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by diiamond89, Jun 21, 2010.

  1. diiamond89 macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #1
    since 12:30 (and its now 3) I been backing up my iphone and it is still under the C. :mad:
    i have a 3G 8gb is that the reason its going so slow?
     
  2. JayDude132 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    #2
    i'm in the same boat. Except mine has only moved a few pixels in a few hours. I wish i was as fortunate as you.
     
  3. kozlosap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California/Apple Country
    #3
    Mines under the C and I've only been backing up 25 minutes - I must be in the super speed zone, LOL!:eek:
     
  4. SAD*FACED*CLOWN macrumors 65816

    SAD*FACED*CLOWN

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #4
    I think when you send diagnostic info to Apple back up takes longer
     
  5. callmemike20 macrumors 6502a

    callmemike20

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I'm just doing a full restore. We'll see how this works. I waited over 2 hours and it didn't even pass B.
     
  6. Shark131 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #6
    Mine is going really slow too, but it's picking up a bit.
     
  7. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    Somebody has to find some work around for this? Right? I hope so because I'm leaving work soon and I plan on installing 4.0 when I get home, but I can't really have my phone out of commission for 2-3 hours.
     
  8. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #8
    its driving me crazy. do u guys think its because everyone else u doing all the downloads n junk too?

    i geuss i feel alittle better since im not the only one :p
     
  9. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #9
    let me kno if that works.
    i wants to restart mine but im worried that its gonna take even longer
     
  10. jmar910 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #10
    Its gotta be something specific to what each person did. When's the last time you all backed up your phone? The guy above mentioned long backups due to sending diagnostic info to apple.... have you ever done that / have it selected? I'm curious because my backup took 10 minutes on my 8gb iphone 3g. Also what models do you guys have?
     
  11. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #11
    i have the 3G 8gb also. i backed it up last night about midnight. is there away i can get it without backing up?
    idk wat their talkin about wen they say " sending diagnostic info to apple"
     
  12. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #12
    I have a 16gb 3G and I let it go for 2 hours and it just stopped. I didn't touch anything, and I heard the iPhone chime like when you first connect the USB to the phone.

    Grrrr, re-started about 20 minutes ago.
     
  13. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #13
    is it being slow again?
     
  14. 01Shambrook macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Hornchurch, Essex
    #14
    iOS4 taking AGES

    Mine has been 'backing up' for hours now and it's starting to get really annoying now, hasnt moved off the first bar yet. Anyone found a way round it yet?
    I have an iPhone 3G running 3.1.3 as of yet. I'm just stopping the backing up and restarting iTunes to see if that'll work.
     
  15. kozlosap macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Location:
    Northern California/Apple Country
    #15
    I did an over-ride of the auto system and saved 2 hours. Once IOS4 is finished downloading, do a manual backup and then hit "restore", not upgrade. It works! When it is done then you are ready to go!
     
  16. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #16
    does this actully work?
     
  17. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #17
    I'm going to give it a try now. I'll let everyone know if I see the same results.

    Edit: I received an error trying this. Code 3014 I think? It was when I was trying to verify the restore with Apple servers.

    2nd Edit: It appears to be working when I tried the 2nd time. It's installing the software now. Let's just hope it's restoring to 4.0 and not 3.1.3.

    3rd Edit: Yes, this method does work. There was no lengthy backup process. The only problem I see with this process is that you have to re-add all your apps/media back onto the phone which can take quite a while. If you use the update process, it does not completely whipe your phone so you don't need to add all your media back on. Either way, it worked. So I'm happy.
     
  18. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #18
    it said something about deleteing media.. so does that mean its gonna delete my ringtones n stuff??
     
  19. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #19
    Yes, but as long as you do a backup right before, everything will be synced back when it asks you to restore from your backup.
     
  20. diiamond89 thread starter macrumors member

    diiamond89

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #20
    im trying it now. thanks :)
     
  21. si77hay macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Location:
    Stirling
    #21
    Waited for over 30mins while my 8GB 3G tried to update. Cancelled, backed up and then restored and now have OS 4. Took 5mins!
     
  22. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #22
    Yes...
     
  23. janericster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #23
    manual backup > restore/update worked for me

    Just wasted 3 hours with the backup hanging issue. Followed the tip here on doing the manual backup and then click restore/update and it worked like a charm.

    Another workaround to get something done that should have worked properly in the first place.

    I just have to wonder who the heck is testing these firmware upgrades during beta? Obviously Apple doesn't have enough testers.
     
  24. shankar2 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    #24
    Thanks for the tip here! It worked like a charm! Thanks much, I spent 2 hours trying to find a solution to this prob!
     
  25. randomerratum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Location:
    Santa Monica, CA
    #25
    I let my backup go. It had just passed the 'c' in about 2 hours. I walkd away for about 30 minutes and returned, THRILLED to see that it said iPhone sync is complete. OK to disconnect.

    Then I saw that it hadn't done anything... it just did a normal sync???

    Anyway. Would someone mind just giving a quick step by step of this 'manual restore' method... from what I gather, it's do a sync (in which the phone is backed up normally.... much quicker??)

    then click update? without backing up? (click stop??)

    then do a restore from the full backup?

    Is that how it works?
     

Share This Page