Backup and storage advice requested

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by spiritlevel, Jan 16, 2008.

1. spiritlevel macrumors 6502

I am a graphic designer and I am about to purchase a new mac pro and put 2TB of internal storage in it (purchased elsewhere). This will be made up of:
    1 x 500GB System and Apps drive
    2 x 500GB RAID 0 array for file storage
    1 x 500GB split between photoshop scratch disk and PC Bootcamp drive for games etc.

I am looking for the best way to back these internal disks up. I need both on site backup and off site backup for security reasons (guard against fire/theft etc). My on site backup drive will be permanently connected to the mac pro for constant backup (probably using time machine) and my off site backup will come into the office once a week, backup everything (or ideally just everything that's changed, then go home again. So my first question is what would you recommend as backup software for this off site disk? I don't need/want full time machine functionality for this - just the ability to backup new/changed files.

For the on site backup there seem to be three ways I could go
    Buffalo Terrstaion Pro II NAS (connects via ethernet)
    Drobo (connects via USB2)
    or a standard 2TB external drive from the like of La Cie or Western Digital. (connects via firewire 800)

I know that USB 2 is slower than firewire 800 but how does gigabit ethernet compare to the other 2 in speed?

I only really need DAS not NAS as I am not sharing with others - does this exclude the terastation would you say?

I really like the fact that the drobo allows me to keep adding bigger drives into the one box so it grows with me as opposed to keep adding more external firewire drives if I go down that route.