bargain price for iStat menus 3.18

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by philipma1957, Jul 16, 2011.

  1. MacinJosh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Oh wow, thanks for the heads-up! I was hoping for something like this to show up so I held off buying it :)
     
  2. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #4
    Good spot. I bought a single license but I think i'll pick up the family pack.
     
  4. ejosepha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #5
    Hello,
    I bought the family pack and downloaded the app onto my Macbook Air. I am not home with the MacPro so I decided to take advantage of your suggestion--the price is right. As an experiment I did go to Fan Control, which only gave the options for either default or Medium.
    I downloaded the free version of the app around one month ago and I remember your suggestions about the different fan control options. Am I only getting the medium and default because I'm on a Macbook Air? Will I get the multiple options for fan control when this app is installed on the MacPro?
    Also, if I uninstall the program from the Air, which I don't really need it on, will I return to 5 users?
    I will eventually come back with best set up advice when I install the app on the Mac Pro.
    thanks again
     
  5. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #6
    Under Edit Preferences you can add a custom fan configuration.
     
  6. ejosepha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #7
    When I downloaded the app a month ago on my Mac Pro there were 3 or 4 fan options available in the download. I didn't customize anything.
    Additionally, I haven't been able to find in edit preferences anything to do with fan controls as yet.
    I will need all of this only on the MacPro anyway.
     
  7. johnnymg macrumors 65816

    johnnymg

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    #8
    After selecting preferences: => select "Sensors"
    On the Munubar Sensors "General" sub panel is a tab called "Edit Rules" that will allow you to define a new set of fan speeds.

    What is unclear to me is if there is an auto override of the preset fan speed(s) if one/more of the sensors indicates an unsafe temperature. It sure looks like once the fans as "set" they won't change speed regardless of the internal temps.

    JohnG
     
  8. philipma1957 thread starter macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9
    I am running around this weekend I will post a how to on monday or tue. It is funky but you can add on setting speeds. I need to show how with a few screen shots.
     
  9. ejosepha macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    #10
    Thanks. No hurry but would appreciate some instructions. I remember when I tried it for free a month or so ago there were automatically three or four settings, going up from default, to 2200. 3300rpm, etc. I tried it for a few minutes to test and the fans sped up. I recall that you used these settings or even lowered the default to reduce noise, depending on workload. (There was also a sensor module that I downloaded separately, but didn't know whether it was necessary or even needed. It's sitting in my downloads.) I decided to uninstall the app from the Macbook Air. I wonder if I have lost one of the 5 users or whether it will recognize that this is the same computer if I upload it again. No big deal though.)
    I won't need this right away, but would like to know the best ways to set and work the app.
    Thanks
     
  10. Chunk72 macrumors member

    Chunk72

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Location:
    Durham, UK
  11. Mr. McMac Suspended

    Mr. McMac

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Location:
    Far away from liberals

Share This Page