baseband downgrader!

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mansonx, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. mansonx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    I had 1.1.2 jailebreak iphone everything was working fine ,by a mistake i update it to 1.1.3 and then i could downgrade to 1.1.1 and jailbreak it again ,now i cant use my phone now ,it is just ipod touch with cameraa !how can i baseband downgrade it from 04.03.13 tooooo 04.01.13 to use my phone again!it is really boring noow :(
    can any1 help plz!
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    What firmware did your iPhone have when you turned it on the first time?
     
  3. chris.niziolek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #3
    Your Screwed

    Sir, You are just as screwed as I am. If you had the 1.1.2 firmware when you bought it, like I did, you are screwed because it has the 4.6 bootloader.

    The way you can check this is look at your serial number, and the 4th and 5th digits represents the week that your phone was made. If your numbers are less than or equal to 44, then you can most likely unlock your iPhone. If your numbers are 45, then there is a chance the iPhone can be unlocked. If your numbers are equal to or greater than 46 then you can not unlock it.

    So mine is 47 so I am stuck. You can still downgrade the baseband or bootloader or whatever but you will lose phone functionality, which defeats the purpose of having an iPhone. Just check your serial number and see if you can or cannot downgrade.

    There is some hope though. When the SDK is released there is a 1.1.3 hack process that will also get released in theory, but who knows for sure. For now you have to wait.
     
  4. mansonx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #4

    when i bought it ,it was 1.1.2
    i update it to 1.1.3 and now i downgrade it to 1.1.1
     
  5. VenomousSVT macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #5
    i have an OTB 1.1.1 phone that is now on 1.1.2.. i have never gotten a straight answer on how to downgrade to 1.1.1 and dg my baseband too... i just want to go back to 1.1.1 again
     
  6. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #6
    Then my friend, you CAN NOT downgrade your Base Band. The current Bootloader 4.6, does not allow downgrades to the BaseBand. The new bootloader is found in iPhone with 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 already pre-installed in them.
     
  7. RL600 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Palm Beach, Florida
    #7
    what about if my iPhone was OTB 1.0.2 ? i had 1.1.2 jailbroken and did the 1.1.3 upgrade with the jailbreak. installer.app messed up an install on a program and froze and reset my phone, coming back with the 'Please connect to iTunes' image. Aaaand stupid me didnt feel like downloading 1.1.1 again to install on my iPhone so I just restored to 1.1.3. And now i regret it. Any way of getting jailbreak back while still being able to use my phone? (Probably not, but who knows)

    sorry for thread jacking, but this has to do with your baseband downgrader questions.

    :(
     
  8. chris.niziolek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2006
    Location:
    Chicago, IL USA
    #8
    rl600 you might be able do downgrade. Key word is might. I don't know if the 1.1.3 upgrade updates the bootloader but there are ways to check your bootloader version. I don't know how to off the top of my head but google is your friend.
     
  9. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #9
    1.1.3 Does not bring a Boot Loader update. Why, because the guys at hackint0sh and Geohot have said it does not bring such update. Anywho, such update as they said once will never happen. The reason is a bootloader update screwup means a permanent brick. (Even if the iPhone has never been hacked or if it is brand new OTB 1.1.2) Any mistake made by iTunes in the update of the Bootloader causes a permanent brick.

    In that sense, Apple won't risk costumer iPhones to an update old bootloaders. Old bootloaders that no longer used in new iPhones. Why, because screwed up iPhone means new iPhones to be given as replacement which means losses. Of coarse, of which Apple won't risk loosing money.


    Your thoughts...and my 2 cents.
     
  10. mJaY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #10
    No problem if you have upgraded by mistake . I did downgrade one iphone of one of my friends by following the below guide. WORKS perfectly fine

    let me know if it worked for you . below is the link from modmyifone.com

    http://www.modmyifone.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25695&highlight=1.1.3+downgrade

    cheers
     
  11. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #11
    Didn't you read that his iPhone is OTB 1.1.2? Downgrades to baseband don't work on OTB's 1.1.2 or 1.1.3
     
  12. mJaY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #12
    MY BAD... but there should be a way to the same for 4.6 BL
    Now I am playing with one 43 week 4.6 BL . very first for me I thaught it only comes from 45th week. now without knowing i upgraded it to 1.1.3 and now when wantto come back to 1.1.1 the Modem firmware is 1.1.3's and i am stuck now.

    it was used with turbo sim before but now even if i want to jailbreak afte getting it in 1.1.2 , its not jailbreaking.. :( :s
     
  13. brando88 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    #13
    You can make your phone work again by jailbreaking and re-upgrading to 1.1.3. You just can't stay on anything below .3 after you've upgraded to it.
     
  14. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #14
    What about a week 39 iPhone that came with 1.1.3? Downgradeable?
     
  15. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #15
    Erm, I'm pretty sure that week 39 iPhones came with 1.1.1. Do you mean it's been upgraded to 1.1.3? If so, did you use iTunes?

    Either way, you should have the old bootloader, so you can downgrade both the baseband and the firmware to whatever version you want.
     
  16. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #16
    Week 43 iPhone with Bootloader 4.6? That's is rare. Because I have a week 43 iPhone with 3.9 luckily. I thought week 45 were the ones that you had the chance to get 3.9 or 4.6. (Had iPhone week 28, but the screen got srewy and AppleCare replaced it :(.)
     
  17. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #17
    No, I bought it recently and its a week 39 (going by the serial number) but it definitely came with 1.1.3. Its still factory. This is my second iPhone, my first is still on 1.1.1 and is also a week 39. I just have to wait for a jailbreak for 1.1.3 OTB - havent found one that works yet.
     
  18. munroe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #18
    That's really weird since 1.1.3 didn't exist in week 39. Did you get it from an official source (Apple, AT&T, O2, etc.)? Perhaps Apple is upgrading old stock that didn't get sold or it was refurbished.
     
  19. adamsweeting macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #19
    There is now!!

    http://iphonejtag.blogspot.com/
     
  20. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #20
    Bought it from the Apple store in Pasadena. I'm guessing Apple is reflashing old stock like you said.
     
  21. mJaY macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #21
    It shooked and blew my brains when i saw it . but its true .. now I have asked the shopw owner to break it with turbo sim for 1.1.3 or anything ... any how HAVE to get it working ......

    but now I Advise all to CHECK THE BOOTLOADER BEFORE YOU DO ANYTHING.

    it can be done by adding the source
    http://www.trejan.com/irepo
    Install BBInfo under Utility category

    and then check ...

    save your self before screwing it .. ~ PEACE ~
     
  22. WildPalms macrumors 6502a

    WildPalms

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    #22
    But if the iPhone is not jailbroken initially, how do you check the bootloader or baseband? You cant rely on the firmware version or serial. I have a week 39 running 1.1.3.
     

Share This Page