Batman Arkham City crashing after first scene

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by anonymous4a, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. anonymous4a macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    #1
    hey guys, anyone try playing this game on bootcamp windows 7? After the first cutscene, before I actually get to play the game, the game crashes back to windows. I read a few other messages with ppl having the same problem on macbook retina with bootcamp
     
  2. MICHAELSD macrumors 68040

    MICHAELSD

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Is this a pirated copy? Sorry to ask but that would be your issue since I read in the Arkham City forums that that version has some issues with its cutscenes since they are additionally compressed.
     
  3. Wiz1331 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #3
    Same problem, game crashes in first scene when Catwoman first appears. It's an official copy of the game as well running on Retina Macbook through bootcamp.
    The console says that there was a problem with the physx core dll. Downloaded and tried a bunch of updates and drivers through Nvidia to remedy the problem with no luck unfortunately.
     
  4. joe- macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    #4
    Workaround

    I had the same problem (also crashes halfway through the benchmark). Apparently the current version of the 650M driver doesn't support all the PhysX functionality used in Arkham City.

    Until nVidia release a new version of the driver, the workaround is to go into the nVidia applet in Control Panel, and under the "Set PhysX Configuration" item, select the CPU as the PhysX processor...

    Then it seems to be fine. Even manages almost playable framerates at native 2880x1800 res (with AA disabled as redundant on retina of course :) )
     
  5. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    Downloding nVidia drivers is the first step. The next step is running PhysX in the CPU... as the above poster said.

    Moreover, be sure to not use Apple's drivers for the GT650. They suck.
     
  6. Psychopulse macrumors regular

    Psychopulse

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I have the same problem, the game crashes every few minutes and I'm using Mac OS X not Windows. Any solutions for Mac guys?
     

Share This Page