Battery in an iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Jamo12, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. Jamo12 macrumors regular

    Jamo12

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    Random idea popped into my head.
    What if they stuck a battery into the iMac? Not like a battery that can let it run for x amount of hours, but one that would last like 30 or 50 min.

    This would give you time to save precious documents if there was a power outage and you didn't get a chance to save them.

    Or if you needed to move your iMac, be it somewhere else in the house or to a friends house, you could without turning it off.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. Jamo12 thread starter macrumors regular

    Jamo12

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #4
    Yeah... but you wouldn't have to deal with an extra box because it would be built in. Apple is all for not dealing with external things and wires and such.;)
     
  3. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #5
    Yeah... but there's no point. You can just buy a UPS and use it for other things as well.
     
  4. iLikeMySelf macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    #6
    I always had this idea... but 5 mins of battery would be enough to save the work.
     
  5. wordoflife macrumors 604

    wordoflife

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #7
    There is no point. They are selling the iMac as a desktop computer, not a portable [whatever you want to call it] computer.

    It would be a great idea, yeah, but a lot of people won't be using it at all. Some people will need the UPS (depending on where they live) whereas others wont. I don't need a UPS but if I lived in Hawaii, then I probably would.
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    A good UPS will also protect you from power surges, especially the big one that often happens when the power comes back on after a power fail. Fitting all this into an iMac would make it much heavier and cost more.
     
  7. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #9
    Battery would be useless for 99.9% of people and to make it last longer than 5 minutes, it would have to be big and thus take space from other innards and possibly force Apple to use inferior components.

    It's not that big deal to turn it off. Get a laptop if you really need to move your computer around
     
  8. Btom macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    #10
    You need a laptop.

    Tom B.
     
  9. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #11
    I'm curious as to why you guys even have UPS', I don't remember having as single power failure in my life where I live.
     
  10. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #12
    That's because we don't all live in Denmark. I have several power outages a year, usually from storms. They last up to two days.
     
  11. bobr1952 macrumors 68020

    bobr1952

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    Melbourne, FL
    #13
    I guess that really is the key here "while I live" Where I live, we have quite a few momentary disruptions. Not enough to do more than dim the lights but certainly enough to shut down your system. That coupled with the worry about voltage fluctuations--a UPS is really the only safe why to go. Even if FPL could keep 100 percent uptime during normal conditions, being in the lightening capital of the US means still more ways for power fluctuations. Shutting down at the least chance of lightening in the area means you might as well just not bother owning a computer here.


    I don't think I'd particularly want one in my computer--rather have one on the floor so I can plug other devices into it--and use the other side for surge protection for still more devices.
     
  12. Stealthipad macrumors 68040

    Stealthipad

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    #14
    not a lot of spare room inside an iMac. What little there is they need to use to ventilate an already over heated interior.
     
  13. santaliqueur macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #15
    "It would be built in"

    You surely don't sound like you are an engineer :)
     

Share This Page