Battery is pants!! advise?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by taylor200588, Apr 27, 2011.

1. taylor200588 macrumors regular

taylor200588

Hi

Yeah its ANOTHER "My battery is rubbish" post

I have a macbook pro 2010 13incher ( ;D ) and the battery is rubbish, after about 2 months of owning it I took it back to apple and they replaced the battery and the screen (I had wifi problems too). But its never been what I expected. On the box it says "10 hours" ..... I would be happy for 6 or even 8 but all I'm getting is about 3 or 4!

Most days I use it for basic surfing and iTunes crap, but other days I use it for heavy 3D modeling and photoshop (I'm a computer arts student) and I KNOW that this will eat into my battery. But when its normal surfing and stuff I would just expect more!

I do the whole calibrating thing at least once a week! On my iStats pro it says

Health 88%
    Cycles 199

So 1. Am I just expecting too much from such a little machine?? and 2. Have you's got any tips to help me save my battery

TAH!!!

Craig

2. simsaladimbamba, Apr 27, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2011

simsaladimbamba

Also have a look at Activity Monitor (Applications / Utilities /) and select All Processes and sort by CPU to see what the culprit may be.

image below uses sorting by CPU as an example
    [​IMG]

3. Blue Sun macrumors 6502a

Use Chrome with the Flashblock extension by Josorek.

Turn bluetooth off.

And try using MRoogle to search the forums.

4. gnasher729 macrumors P6

gnasher729

My advice:

1. Don't get obsessive with "calibrating". Calibrating doesn't improve battery life, it only improves how accurate the display is. On the other hand, every calibration takes one charge out of your battery life. Looks like about 40 of your 199 charges were wasted on pointless calibrating.

2. Keep your MBP plugged in when you can. There's no point in using the battery if you don't have to.